Tezos - The Self-Amending Cryptographic Ledger

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

When I first read about Tezos, I thought: "wait, they're doing a blockchain now, after their wallet?" Of course, I was confusing Tezos with Trezor, the popular hardware wallet for Bitcoin, Ethereum and a few other cryptos. Well, like I said in another article, we do live in a cryptocurrency information overload stage.

Back to Tezos, now. According to their website, "Tezos is a new decentralized blockchain that governs itself by establishing a true digital commonwealth." I admit I am a little bit turned off by the pretentious language, not only in crypto, but in every other area. Hyped doesn't necessarily means good. Nevertheless, I continued to read and I found a few interesting things:

  • Tezos will launch in 16 days, with an ICO (read more about this in their whitepaper)

  • Tezos is not a spin-off of Bitcoin, nor a mashup on top of the Ethereum blockchain, it's written from the ground up

  • there won't be any PoW, only PoS based on the consensus mechanism. It's not yet clear how this will happen, but hopefully we will learn more as the ICO approaches

  • Tezos stands for "smart-contract" in ancient Greek. Had no idea that Greeks had smart contracts.

  • Apparently, the platform was founded by a couple (might be gossip, but if it's true, then it's cute)

  • The IP of Tezos might have been disputed between different legal entities, but now it seems things are settling down, according to this article.

  • Last, but not least, according to a few recent articles, like this one, Tim Draper announced he will be participating in this ICO, which, by itself, it's a lot of good PR. Tim Draper is a well known VC investor (participation in Skype, among others).

Will keep an eye on this one too.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Sort:  

It is true, the founders are a husband and wife, he's coming from some HFT thingy and she's been doing some finance related asset management hedge funding stuff. There's an interview on Ether Review podcast (I think) with her

Thanks for the confirmation (and nice seeing you active around here ;) )

For a variety of reasons, Tezos is a very unusual project.

They're proposing to concentrate mining in a unique kind of miner, and are proposing to innovations to zk-SNARKS such as zk-STARKS. It'll be exciting to see where this goes.

Yeap, I'm curious too. Lots of exciting projects in the crypto world nowadays.

Thank you Dragos for the great article. The Tezos ICO is going to start on July 1st, 2017 everybody! Don't miss out on this opportunity to get in on the "ground floor" of this game changing technology.

Tezos is obviously a very interesting ISO.
I wonder what happens after entering the market.
I'd like to join mine if possible.

I invest eos coin at #0 period.
now my earn is double ~~ I post about tezos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67059.35
ETH 2672.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72