Coinbase Launches Commerce: Start Accepting Payments In Crypto Now For Your Online Store

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Yesterday Coinbase announced the launch of what I think it will be the flagship product of the company: Commerce. According to their launch blog post:

Coinbase Commerce is a new service that enables merchants to accept multiple cryptocurrencies directly into a user-controlled wallet. Our mission at Coinbase is to create an open financial system, so we’ve designed this solution to serve merchants worldwide. Unlike previous merchant products we’ve offered, Coinbase Commerce is not a hosted service, so merchants have full control of their own digital currency.

Also, it seems they've already integrated with Shopify. You can learn more about Coinbase Commerce here.

Now, I don't want to play the smart ass here, but I did write about a new tech team joining Coinbase a few weeks ago. Here's an excerpt from that post:

In this context, I think it's not at all a coincidence that Coinbase announced very recently the acquisition of an entire development team. Incidentally, I personally know both Crisitan and Mircea, the leaders of the team acquired by Coinbase - they're former Twitter employees and the founders of a great app, called Summify, later acquired by Twitter. So I can tell beforehand that Coinbase is loading their guns, so to speak, and most certainly they have a few added value services in their pipeline.

I don't have a Coinbase account, nor do I intend to open one, but if some of you have one and started to play with Coinbase Commerce, I'd love to know your feedback.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

A great move by CoinBase. Shopify sellers already have few options for accepting crypto and hopefully CB will be capable enough to offer a couple of improvements.

I'd love to know how similar to Amazon it will be. Online shops have many models and one based on crypto and with decentralized wallets seems innovative! I'm really curious about the way it'll work.

Those are great news as much as Cryptos will be more and more in use they will be worth more and more

I always happy to see for new places accepting Crypto

wow very good news...
i use coonbase apps.....
thnx for share update news

Great news from Coinbase, good for crypto adoption. However, will people use cryptos to pay for their purchases if everyone is HODLing?

Great work....keep it up..........

maybe they want to try to open new opportunities, we hope Coinbase Commerce can strengthen bitcoin and weave good cooperation .. good info thanks mr @dragosroua

Wooow! good news thanks for sharing keep it up

Do you have a business? Somebody should start selling some cryptos. They're hard to buy in the USA.

With the recent announcement of coinbase finally working on segwit adoption and now this product, I expect a healthy bull market for all the coins that the application supports:-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75