Bitcoin - The Sad Mistress of Today's Economy

in #bitcoin8 years ago (edited)


Every time the price of Bitcoin goes up, there's huge enthusiasm. There's happiness. There's hope that the decentralized world is heading towards a new era of money, an era in which transparency will come first, value will travel fast and we're all be rich because we mined 5 years ago.

And then the correction comes. Price goes down (arguably to a higher level than before the surge) and we're all back to our daily chores.

It's like when you have an argument with your spouse. There's tension building up. There's pressure and the world seem like an ugly place. From that grey place, Bitcoin looks like a diva. Free, attractive, ready for anything, anywhere (please stay focused on the article, thanks). So you go for it. You start an affair.

But then your spouse starts to talk to you again. Maybe there will be a compromise. Or two. The tension goes down. Stability and comfort are kicking in. Well, we had our arguments, but we're together for how long? For, uhmm, ever? Let's give it another chance. Sorry, Bitcoin, it was fun while it lasted, but I'm going back to my wife now.

An Escape, Not A Solution

In economical terms, Bitcoin is a safe haven. Something to put your fiat money into, if there's some storm coming in. Like the storm that is still unfolding in China these days / weeks. There's no secret that Bitcoin price rose so high because there was a lot of buying from China. Based on the rumors of CNY devaluation a lot of rich people put their money into Bitcoin.

But Bitcoin is not yet powering a market. It's just like gold. You can't go to the supermarket and buy your groceries with gold. You buy them with fiat currency (in 99.99999% of the cases). So until Bitcoin will be accepted as a de facto currency in the big markets, the happiness should be postponed. And every surge in price should be taken with a little bit of salt. Or a lot of salt. A correction of more than 20%in one day (from $1200 to $1000) is enough to wipe out your life earnings, if you put all of them on the Bitcoin bull side.

So right now Bitcoin is more of a sign of unease in the economy, some tension that needs to be worked out, just like a domestic argument. If the fight is big enough, Bitcoin will get a significant share of attention and we'll all know that there's some real trouble going on in the world.

But then they work out their issues and Bitcoin loses its attention, mojo and marketcap. Sad Bitcoin. Sad.

And Steem? If Bitcoin Is The Mistress, Steem Is What?

Well, I don't know yet about that. We're still dating. But there is something going on there...

image source


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

"If Bitcoin Is The Mistress, Steem Is What?"

....the baby. It will be coming of age when the mistress is drawing her pension..!! Great post. Upvoted. Stephen

Yeap, that's an interesting perspective too. :)

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

Although, more than likely Bitcoin will adapt to the 'growing unease' of currency markets. Methods such as "Shift" Visa/Debit are becoming more common. As far as volatility, ask someone in Venezuela about that. 🤢

It's already adapting and Shift Visa is a nice move. We do live interesting times...

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47