Bitcoin Drama Shifting: Happy End Is In Sight As Miners Begin To Initiate SegWit Lock-in Period

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 8.57.52 AM.png


At approximately 00:06:48 UTC today, July 20, at block height #476768 the bitcoin network finished the BIP91 lock in period and entered a new phase in order to activate the protocol Segregated Witness (Segwit). Now during the lock-in period, there will be another 336 blocks, until Segwit will be activated on Bitcoin’s main network.

This quote is from an article posted less than an hour ago on news.bitcoin.com - have a read, if you're curious for more details, it's quite well documented.

At the moment of writing this, the price of Bitcoin soared to $2770 (a week ago it was $1800).

Fun times ahead.

P.S. As with every Bitcoin surge, the alts are taking a dive, but they will correct upwards shortly.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

Do you think the rebound is temporary?

Nope, I think it's the beginning of a steady upward trend. But you shouldn't believe me. Make your own judgement.

Maybe it will take time to go above $ 3000, but afterwards I agree that we might have a rising trend until mid-October, and even more so if the hard fork Is avoided again

Thank you for keeping us informed

So big fluctuation! A lot of people did good money!

This is great. I was looking for the drama to be over. I'm looking forward to the market steadily rising.

Great news... thanks for sharing. Happy days ahead!

Happy end is indeed in sight!!! Very exciting times 😁

It this means no hard fork and a smooth consensus tranfer to segwit, then we should all cheer. The worst thing that could happen is if there was a contentious fork, like the one between ETH and ETC - that episode tanked Ether's price for a good nine months.

Great info, I just feel Bitcoin and other crypto WOULD be much high already if it wasn't for the FED's insane control over currencies in general.

thanks for the update dragosroua

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51