Need Some Perspective? Keep THIS in Mind When you Hear of Bitcoin's Demise...Again

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Just saw this in one of the crypto-related Telegram groups in which I lurk, where I've observed a lot of depression and despair.

Take a look at this:

perspective.jpg

Playing on my Old Man of the Bitcoin Sea shtick, I have said several times that so far, 2018 is feeling a LOT like 2013 did, at least for me.

What happened in 2013 during that early run? It is a matter of history, look it up...the broader point being that even though it hit $260 and then fell 70%, the pullback, just like now, was down to a level several times higher than where it had been throughout all of 2012 and the beginning of 2013. We still lived pretty well that summer as we put our house on the market, sold it, and ploughed a good deal of the profit from the house into bitcoin come September. As bitcoin peaked again at the end of 2013, we were in the perfect postion to use the bloated bitcoin gains to help pay for all of the things we needed to take care of before leaving the US.

And you know what? I was still buying BTC at the beginning of 2014 all the way down to about $400. It was pretty soon after that I stepped back and withdrew from the bitcoin world. This was because of the price bottom and my own depression both with the decline and without, depression being a recurring condition throughout my life.

Anyway, I just wanted to post this because the nervous, collective sigh of relief yesterday returned to short, shallow breaths today as bitcoin continues its normal pattern as observed in the chart above. Go back and look at it. Stare at it for a while. Download it and make it your desktop. By the end of the year, you'll probably laugh about all this craziness at the beginning February.

Well, we'll see, won't we? Stay strong, HODL hard, HODL LONG!

Follow me for more Steem missives like this.
I tweet from @Dr_Revelator about bitcoin, economics, politics, comedy, entertainment, and culture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66