Bitcoin to be used as mainstream currency?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

A lot of talk has been going around between the people I personally know about the mainstream adoption of bitcoin as a currency. I love to express my views and opinions on altcoins as a large portion of the general public who have heard about bitcoin have no understanding of the vast markets it has sprouted.

Accept-Bitcoin.jpg

I personally believe that bitcoin won't be used as a currency as such. Until SegWit (Segregated Witness) is closer to becoming activated it's far too slow and expensive to send just a small amount, other currencies are performing much faster transactions and with lower fees, such as Dash or PIVX, who's purpose is to become a currency.

Bitcoin for me has opened up the door to the revolutionary blockchain technology behind it, allowing ideas to flourish creating blockchain assets that are for more specialized purposes. I prefer to see some cryptocurrencies as "Bespoke Cash" in a sense that different coins have their very own purpose.

Bitcoin is simply the foundations to a much more diverse set of cryptocurrencies that we will hopefully see take mainstream input over the years to come.

I hope to discuss this with your steemians in the comments below!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29