Bitfinex is Under DDOS Attack...

in #bitcoin6 years ago

A few weeks ago I tried to verify my Bitfinex account. I submitted my details, my documents, and after several attempts, successfully took a photo where my myself, my ID, and my signature were all clearly visible (not as easy as it should be!).

The upload failed :(

I thought it may have been a problem at my end. Maybe the connection stalled. A couple of days later, I tried again. And failed again, and again... No matter what I did, Bitfinex really did not want to verify my account!

I sent them an email and received the following response:

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 14.53.21.png

This seems like a generic response. I guess it's the same story they're telling everyone. But I still have a few problems:

  • I'm not a new account. I want to verify an existing account, but they don't explain why I can't do that. (Once verified I can withdraw USD. The conspiracy theorist in me wonders whether the allegations against Bitfinex might have substance.)
  • I find it surprising that they claim to be under DDOS attacks while publicly saying that they're closed to new members. Why the inconsistency?
  • Why didn't they tell their clients in advance? Like many other clients a received an email (see below) demanding that we verify ourselves for KYC. Why were they asking clients to do this if they knew we wouldn't be able to?

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 15.11.05.png

Fortunately I don't have a meaningful amount of USD, and I could transfer my BTC to my wallet. All very unsatisfactory. But I guess that's a fact of life these days in the crypto world.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dermotdorgan! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dermotdorgan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55