You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The threat of quantum computers to Bitcoin

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Steemit has been my first foray into the crypto-currency world. I have wanted to try before, but a couple of weeks ago I signed up. I have to admit that quantum computers have always been a worry to me. They way I see it is this...

If successful quantum attacks happen, they will be BIG news. It will collapse the system. Someone who wants to steal coin has a vested interest in the system staying intact. They will either have to stay under the radar, or not CARE about collapse. That is why I think it will be a state run program with a collapse being the actual goal. All governments see crypto-currency as a threat, so they would make a good candidate. Plus, they have the funds and science to potentially create a quantum computer capable of doing this. Food for thought. Good article.

Sort:  

Good point. Hiding some innovation as big as this probably won't work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51