Dear Coinbase: WTF?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Everything I’ve read online about coinbase releasing Bitcoin Satoshi Vision (BSV) has been vague and unanswered. We’re approaching three months since Bitcoin Cash (BCH) hard forked resulting in the creation of Bitcoin SV (BSV), a #cryptocurrency with a 128mb maximum blocksize—whatever that means! All I know is I still haven’t received my BSV from coinbase, the exchange where I held my BCH on November 15th, 2018, nearly three months ago—fork day.

7ADA9EE3-E1AD-43C9-810A-648ABDEDB4AD.jpeg

Coinbase mobile app + photoshop

I didn’t have a computer. Ledger and iOS are not compatible. I couldn’t access the Nano. Bittrex didn’t support the fork. BitPay didn’t support the fork. The two opposing wallet addresses between Binance and BitPay confused me. We were too busy preparing to exit the states. Insert your favorite excuse here _____________. I moved my BCH to coinbase the day before the fork because on November 4th, 2018, they said:

5CA610A7-4046-4D18-8C3D-AF6D58BD3EE6.jpeg

live Bitcoin news dot com

They followed up with another announcement a few days later on November 7th, 2018:

758022FA-F6E3-44F2-85EB-1E42AF8F19CE.jpeg

coindesk dot com

We’re approaching three months now coinbase and still no wOrd—what the fork?! I’ve read numerous articles online but it seems like coinbase is dancing around the question and we still don’t know when we’ll be able to withdraw our Bitcoin SV. So, I asked them myself. First, I was directed to their Ai, then to the customer service email department—here’s our correspondence:

AB7385E1-B1D9-4BE1-855F-63615464FECB.jpeg

I rephrased my question and, this time, I specifically referred to Bitcoin Cash (ABC) and Bitcoin Satoshi Vision (BSV) assuming that would trigger Ai’s memory.

67DD7F7C-AAFF-461A-B1D1-8AD6B1F88F21.jpeg

This is their response:

0F00B04E-05C3-40DA-B93C-0E7044AE7380.jpeg

I came right out and asked:

062461B0-1062-4AB3-B804-8DD77A633938.jpeg
BE09D5BF-7FEE-4C0E-BDF7-457C0A44E55C.jpeg
780FDC6E-DBFD-4D99-8F21-0B8E3097B949.jpeg

This is the email I sent to Coinbase customer service at support.coinbase.com:

76D05ED2-CDB3-4A02-97B5-8465CD77455F.jpeg

I clicked “send” (without catching the typo) and was immediately met with the following screen and this acknowledgment email:

DDDB86FE-DFE7-4231-BDC2-8B9F58F893CB.png

A8B548EB-3F16-4CF9-97AE-D143C17C9C4E.jpeg

The time stamp on that email is 2:10, I do appreciate their response time—not bad! About four hours later I received this response:

B430C207-BD49-4178-AE0B-E38B67631694.jpeg

Now I’m understanding why everyone online is sharing the same opinion—coinbase won’t answer the question. So, I was more direct this time.

8920F799-6293-4282-B2D8-15428E960798.jpeg

It took 13 hours before they’d respond to that one but at least they responded. I’m still not disappointed with their response turn around time. This is their last communication with me:

051F9F07-75BC-4D84-B444-7141B5DD6106.jpeg

Look, I understand the risks of leaving anything at an exchange—I get it! Save your text. Coinbase could’ve said “a year from now” and I would deal with it because I chose to store my BCH there after they said: “customers will have access to their funds on each chain.” My point is they didn’t tell me a year, they didn’t tell me a month, I was very specific with my questions and all they did is show me they their transparency—clear as mud. I’ll add this correspondence to each of the other ones I’ve found online stating ‘Coinbase literally doesn’t have an answer.’ Thanks for nothing, Coinbase!

Edit
Update:

I just received this email from coinbase, the date is 02.10.19, about two weeks after my email communication with their service department when they didn’t answer my question. They claim to have resolved my case.

589AD841-3675-41CA-A2F7-71B57F67769E.jpeg

Edit
Update (again) February 14:

BAA8A372-E26A-4B2E-88D4-6D733DCCC980.jpeg

BEEEA926-1428-482D-88FF-B207F7A0CE84.jpeg

Support #steemit Original Content Creators



Sort:  

Howdy sir dandays! And coinbase is supposed to be the best there is aren't they? But they sound like a typical big bureacracy but I guess you should be used to dealing with such entities. wow. I'm sure it won't be long now, lol.

In a way I’m glad to be away from coinbase, I can’t acfuvate sells and buys with them from down here.

Eh! :time out: Wait a frikkin minute pard’ner, hold your horses! You made it by this article and my #fff contender from last week, both before they’re payday, something’s off.... Who is this and what have you done with Janton? :time in:

Thanks a lot for stopping by @janton.

howdy again sir dandays! hahaha! Well sir, I remember you saying to come by before the voting limit was up so that's what I did. Who are you using if not Coinbase?
I wanted to use them and even wanted to use a small bank account to do the ACH transfers but when I went to set it up they wanted me to put in my login details for my account and I just couldn't do it. I've set those up before but the company just asked for my account number.

Coinbase seems similar to a typical government agency....I am just saying :wink :wink.
I believe you approached this in a manner that would have been no way possible for me. I would have probably Flipped my ISH and told them how I really felt. Lol.
One day we will get rid of this fricking middle man raking in a ton of cash from transactions. I tend to think that one system has to crash before another is adopted. What do you think?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey good morning brother Splatts, thanks a lot for dropping a line. It’s pretty frustrating, coinbase, that is, even moreso than 1/2 the comments on my posts being rewarded higher and with more Upvotes than my actual F’ing post! First thing in the morning and I drop by Pura Vida’s latest post just to see all of her hours of dedication and hard work can’t keep up with the’fa King comments on my posts!! <- that’s some BS. I heard there may be help around the corner: https://www.narrative.org When are we supposed to follow suit and power down like all of the big wallets?

Ok, enough frustration.

Back to coinbase... Man, what a trippy frikkin entity huh? I don’t know how familiar you are with them but a little over a year ago we could buy and sell directly to and from our PayPal account, well, then they put a halt to that. That was right when the IRS was knocking on their door. Well, then Coinbase allowed the IRS access and even gave that nonsense speech about only 5% of the wallets are being investigated.. or something like that??

.....I’m back! I know you don’t know I left but I did! I know you don’t know that I just knocked over a full cup of coffee onto this fancy rug of the Air B&B we’re currently staying but I did. I know you don’t know I stopped this message to soak it all up the best I could but I did. As I was saying...

So, anyhow, the Feds gained access to the most valuable wallets coinbase has ever tracked and that’s the start. They got the big ones, they’ll get the little ones too. My point about PayPal sells is shortly after the feds got inside coinbase, those PayPal sells were mysteriously activated again and are still active. 🤔 what’s that smell like to you?

(Got dang! I just re-read this thing and I swear I’m not actually shedding tears it just reads like I’m crying)

l ol

I agree with you wholeheartedly about one having to crash before the other can reign supreme. I think that goes for everything, not just value exchange. Homes.. mountains.. rivers.. vehicles.. existence.. ‘currency.’

Good morning, Splatts! I know I already said that once but that was a long time ago! 👍🏿

Thanks for stopping by @jlsplatts.

They're all shady. With the technology we have available, it would be super easy to make everything transparent and practical. But, nope. We'll see.

Hey what’s up chef?! How far off are we, do you think? Until everything is trustless third parties and public ledger?

You know, shame on me for trusting an exchange who doesn’t even give you your keys but that’s another article. This is about a fork they said they’d honor two weeks prior to the fork. Three months later—nothing. Not even a carrot, nothing.

Thanks for stopping by @weirdheadaches.

Honestly, now-a-days, there's no telling. Next month, next year, next millennia etc.

Our species has the real possibility of making heaven on earth. I fully support that.

Yup, its vegan...
Vegan-Carrot-Cake-13.jpg

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

If I didn't know better, it 's like you were using my computer. Kinda pre Mercury retrograde stuff goin' on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63