You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Question About Genesis Mining

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Yeah you can technically keep it going forever if you add more hashrate to the contract to keep it profitable. I wouldn't be concerned about the exact duration that your contract might last since that is hard to predict, but I would focus more on the payback period (How long does it take to get your money back if you factor in difficulty increases and bitcoin price).

Sort:  

Back of the envelope math on breakeven point:
Current hash rate: 7.2M tera hashes
If I invest in 15 terabytes of hash, then I will receive roughly (15/7.2M)*12.5 (block reward) * 2750 (current btc price) * 144 (blocks per day) = $10.3 per day

current electricity = $4.20 per day.
$6.10 per day breaks even with $1950 investment after 320 days.

Assume hash rate continues to increase faster than price, breakeven point is probably closer to 500 days. I'm ok with 500 days if my contract can go forever, but if it ended after 2 years in the best case scenario and earlier in worst case scenario then maybe I wouldn't buy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39