Breaking - Ransomware Attack and How to Protect YourselfsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Below I detail the current ransomware attack and how to potentially protect yourself.

Sort:  

Best way to protect yourself from anything: Good backups. Doing a full system image right now just in case and have all my important files on a sever or nas not on my pc.

Good Point. I actually had that in my talking points but forgot to mention it. Good catch!

Great tips, mate! But I must add "DON'T open any SUSPICIOUS mail". Most of the infections in computers happens when people open mails. Is better that, if you read a mysterious message in your dashboard, eliminate it inmediately.

Bitcoin can be blacklisted. So this suchs for scammer, and for people that get them form scammers for trade or payment for services. And very nice video #Cryptowallet. Can you post the links you talk about (people like easy).

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.56 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Because only governments program Ransomware?

wake up. who has all the technology anand g endless power to tax?

Great tips! Thanks!

Do not go online.

Linux FTW. When you have that it's hard to get infected, if not impossible.Also only download safe things from the repositories and if you download anything else, always check source, then netstat and a few other things to make sure it doesn't call home to something suspiscous. Keeps ya pretty safe!

I see a few other write don't open wierd email and that would be an obvious one too. I'm trying to learn ethical hacking to protect myself and I had no idea how easy it is to become infected.

A tool I know now means all you need to do is click a link on a website, which looks legit, although shortened, it will then infect you if you click the wrong alternative and send through to the legit site... Scary.

The most evil in this case will make sure "do you want to do X?" if you click Yes you get infcted, if you click NO you wil get infected. Only way out is "X" and close page.

You are correct in thinking that Linux distributions will help not get a virus, which is because most viruses are coded for Windows (not Linux), It is still possible to get infected (although it greatly reduces the chance. I haven't looked at the tools released by wikileaks, but there is probably stuff that targets Windows, MACS, Linux, ext....

So my point is be safe rather than sorry.

Yes. All steps to help is good. Also VPN for going online.

Thank you, Bix. Looks unusually (or the new usual) cold in Oakland. "They" were laying down line after line after line of chemtrails where I'm at and they all float to California forcing a "weather system" on to you. My exact words yesterday, "Look at all those chemtrails. It's gonna be cold and rainy in California tomorrow." I live in-but on the outskirts of- a pretty big city and I feel like out of all these people I'm the only one who sees the chemtrails. I feel like everyone should be out pointing up at the sky asking "WTF is going on." But they're not. From what I understand when people are asleep and their bodies, minds and souls are poisoned from the toxic foods they eat, alcohol, mainstream media, fluoride and all those distractions in place to keep the population dumbed-down they can't even see the chemtrails.
Regarding the Patriot Act, most people do not even understand it. They know everything about their favorite sports team, but have not a clue about what their government is doing to them. My middle-school aged son had to do a report on the Patriot Act, and I implored him to please tell the truth about it. And, he did.... I think he titled it "The Not So Patriot Act."
I like my Ledger Nano for an off-line wallet. As always, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.71
ETH 3517.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36