Can You Guess the Demographics of the Bitcoin Community? This is What it looks like Broken Down into Six Age-Buckets

in #bitcoin7 years ago

If you would have to guess, how would you divide 100% over the following six age buckets when it comes to Bitcoin community engagement? And don't scroll further down yet...

  • 18-24 = ?
  • 25-34 = ?
  • 35-44 = ?
  • 45-54 = ?
  • 55-64= ?
  • 65+ = ?

Which age bucket is the biggest? Which is the smallest? How big is the biggest? How small is the smallest?

So, based on Google Analytics data, this is what it looks like today:


Screen Shot 2018-02-14 at 16.03.48.png
Image source

Was it what you expected? What was different? What does your frame of reference look like?

Personally I actually expected the first two buckets combined would be more like 70% of the total while it is actually a bit above half op the people. I also think it is quite cool that 3% of the people in the Bitcoin community is actually over 54! :-D

Looking at the World population build-up, the Bitcoin Community is relatively young, which was to be expected I guess :-)


Screen Shot 2018-02-14 at 16.20.32.png
Image source

Have a good day!


---> 👍🏼 Follow me for regular updates on my cryptocurrency portfolio, investments and crypto related articles.
---> 👍🏼 Resteems and upvotes are appreciated ;-)


Disclaimer: I am not a financial advisor, trader or developer. I am just a blockchain & cryptocurrencies enthusiast. Make sure you do your own research, draw your own conclusions and do not invest any money that you cannot afford to lose.

Sort:  

I'm a bit surprised the 18-24 is not a larger percentage. Though maybe they are still too busy partying and not yet realising the importance of money.

I think you have a point there :-)

It could also be that they don't find Bitcoin sexy enough and are more engaged with the alts.

Where would institutional investors fall I wonder. We cant deny that institutions are getting involved, but so their employees contribute to the age demographics.... or are they excluded.

Ha, good one. I am not really sure. I haven't found any data about 'private persons' vs 'institutional investors' or something. The data above is derived from Google Analytics, so basically from web surfing, not necessarily investing.

It will be very inportant to know who the "whales" of crypto are. Once institutions control a dominant share, the market will be very vulnerable to manipulation.... not that it isnt already with pump and dumps... but on a much bigger level.

I would have thought that over 55 would have a little bump as they are exiting the traditional workforce, and are stuck in bullshit limited income plans and depleted pensions.

I suppose people from 25-34 are the most active on social media and will catch the end of an early innovator cycle more strongly than others.

It would be interesting to see what demographics were into steem. Have you seen any demographics on that anywhere?

That is true, maybe it is not fair to compare with the world population and it would be better to compare with the average internet users demographics :-)

I haven't seen similar stats about Steemit users. They must be out there though..

I'm in a very small minority. I'm a little surprised. I guess I shouldn't be. I was always ahead of my peers on technology. Of course, I don't own much, but I have some. Proud to be part of your statistics.

Cool and great to have you in the space @lahvista!

This post has received a 13.79 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @cryptotem

You got a 3.02% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @cryptotem!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87