Bitcoin Becoming Less and Less Correlated with Alts and Practically NO Correlation With The S&P 500

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I was looking at the 90-day cryptocurrency correlation matrix on SifrData and saw that Bitcoin is becoming less and less correlated with the alts. This is a 90-day average though, because I think if we would look at the data of the last 30 days, the correlation is probably even lower for most alts.


Screen Shot 2017-12-08 at 15.43.46 90 days corr.png

Source

...BTC and alts used to be more correlated...


Screen Shot 2017-12-08 at 15.44.08 180 days corr.png

Source

Also interesting is the practically non-existent negative correlation between BTC and the S&P 500. I am very curious what kind of correlation we will see when the stock exchanges crash ;-)

What do you think?


---> 👍🏼 Follow me for regular updates on my cryptocurrency & token portfolio, purchases and research.
---> 👍🏼 More on my 70% Core / 30% Play Money Portfolio Approach
---> 👍🏼 Resteems and Upvotes are appreciated!


Disclaimer: I am not a financial advisor, trader or developer. I am just a blockchain & cryptocurrencies enthusiast. Make sure you do your own research, draw your own conclusions and do not invest any money that you cannot afford to lose.

Sort:  

You got a 0.10% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @cryptotem!

Yes that would be a dream come true when alts are not correlated with Bitcoin.
I think things will change drastically when an alt take over Bitcoin.
I remember during the BCH rise, All Alts & Bitcoin were going down
And at the time I did not have any BCH and just one coin was literally ruining the entire market place making it go all Red ! lol

I was trying to resteem the post but can not seem to find the arrow for it :(

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 0.48% vote... I was summoned by @cryptotem! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You got a 1.07% upvote from @upme requested by: @cryptotem.
Send at least 1 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

This post has received a 8.98 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @cryptotem.

This post has received a 1.67% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @cryptotem. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You got a 1.85% upvote from @votebuster courtesy of @cryptotem!

This post has received a 3.70 % upvote, thanks to: @cryptotem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60