Pump and dump scam

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hi guys,

Wanted to warn all of you for the following: pump and dump on cryptocurrencies.

As I learn more and more every day, I get connected with more people every day who are willing to share their insights. But also I am getting invited to several groups which claim to have a strategy for so called pump and dump.

In short; with a couble of thousand people you will receive at a specific time a specific coin which you will have to buy. Claiming that you will make 300% - 1000% profits. You may sell this coin as soon as you receive message to do so. I have found a couple stories which all have the same conclusion. The founder of this initiatieve sure makes A LOT of profits, but as an individual "sheep" to follow "the horde" I strongly doubt that you will make any profit at all, or just contributing to the winnings of those people who started this initiative / scam. At the time you want to sell your coins, it's worth close to nothing.

I have no experience myself, the first pump and dump I got informed about will be later today. Besides the fact, I don't buy these kind of "to good to be true stories", making money is not (the only) reason for joining cryptocurrency. This way I think you are destroying a coin instead of supporting it's ideas.

What do you guys think?

Crypotnewbi

Sort:  

How does this work? How is someone aligning a couple thousand people to start buying at the same price/time? I can't figure out a way to coordinate that!

That, I don't know yet. But what I do know is they have another group where they share these info way earlier. That way, a small group can invest in a coin what is worth <0.0002 BTC before someone else is investing.

At the time a couple of thousand people are about to invest, they are ready to sell their coins immediately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34