Coinbase great but....

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

coinbase_logo_white.png

I've been using Coinbase for a few years now and have been loving their services...I even recommend them in my article on how to buy bitcoin....however... There is one big thing bothering me, the id verification process.

I don't understand how still up to today they are still using that archaic system they have...I recently tried to upload my id again, you know the definition of insanity? Repeating the same thing and expecting a different result.... Well let's test that definition today...
I take a picture of both sides of my id on the app....upload.....wait....back side not clear enough...repeat photoshoot with studio quality lighting....upload.....wait.....front side not clear....repeat....back side....after numerous attempts I gave up and attempted the upload. Armed and ready with the clearest shots my 15mp camera can give....upload....wait....back side not clear.....repeat front side....

I then repeated the whole entire process listed above in the website and guess what!!! 😀😀😀😀😎😎😎😎😎😎.....still did not work o.O

I mean come on after years I still can't upload my id so I can do a wire, seriously Coinbase? When exchanges and miners and faucets can manage what is essentially the crypto bank of america cant?

Lets not even get on yo the fact that support is non existent...just a full inbox....
DQmfGow4xjVDEX3VoyuiKgatJ2i6WJQraQnzBPjuGKpKLoJ_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

I have the same issue with coinbase @cryptohustler and there I was thinking maybe it was just me and my camera, they really need to sort it out

I like it and use it but buying btc with credit card does not always work

Yea i have noticed that

Well people have been getting hacked recently on coinbase so tread lightly.

Yea I saw the post

Had not luck with the Coinbase, Kraken or Xapo verification processes.

I haven't tried Kraken or Xapo's yet

The only bad thing about coinbase is they take too long, 1 week to deposit 2k, and there is no way to speed it up. Cant do wire transfer either dont know why.

To wire you need to upload id

hey @cryptohustler and anyone else. I bought a new webcam today from Staples and was able to upload my ID. It's probably what you're going to have to do if you want things resolved in any timely fashion. Good luck!

such a mess....can't believe they are essentially locking us out from using their service.

lots of people having problems, check out this forum
https://community.coinbase.com/t/id-verification-failed-no-response-from-support/11418/2

support is not very helpful, saying things like "Also, if you email us on Friday or over the weekend, please also remember that we're regular folks--not everyone puts in hours over the weekend, so naturally you may not see a response until business resumes."

Whaaaat??!? They should have people busting ass to resolve this issue. What a huge disappointment. Anybody have experience with bitsquare?

Not yet is that another service?

Yes, a decentralized one, so it's peer-to-peer but i'm having trouble figuring it out. Doesn't let me do bank wire and i don't meet the qualifications for this ClearXChange platform they suggest. Other options are cash deposit to i don't know where or US Postal Money Order. Man, Coinbase was super convenient but clearly bottlenecking. Demand is huge

For sure and they seem to be buckling under the pressure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51