I have Officially Lost Most Of The Faith I had In Poloniex. Problems Logging Onto Account Are Unacceptable.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

When I atempted to log onto my Poloniex account this morning like I always do, I was met with a message stating invalid email/password 3 times in a row.

While it is not uncommon for me to accidentally mistype my long alphanumeric password, three times in a row was simply not possible. This instantly scared the life ou of me because I assumed my account/email had been hacked. I use the email exclusively for Poloniex, and same with the password. When I checked my email I had realized I hadn't been hacked, bu rather for some reason Poloniex was malfunctioning, and I eventually was locked ou of my account for 20 minutes. I am simply trying to withdrawl some of my balance and check on my lending orders before I go out of town this weekend, but it is looking like that's not gonna be able to happen. 

In my opinion, there is a clear difference between lagging and slow orders and site speed in general, and not allowing users to access their accounts. No allowing me to log on o access my account is a major red flag on any financial platform, but specifically cryptocurrency platforms because the volatility means individuals should always have quick and easy access to their accounts. I obviously don't keep my investments or buy and hold positions on the site, but even just not being able to access the BTC i have in my balance is a major inconvenience for a trader like me. While it is only a major inconvience for a trader of my size, for a large trader this could be quite detrimental. I know that Poloniex has been seeing higher trading volume and activity than ever before, but I would have thought that they could have been on top of it by now. I lost much of the respect and faith that I had for Poloniex over the past few weeks, and for the first ime I intend to look for alternatives. 

I have been trying to give Poloniex the benefit of the doubt in these types of conditions, because I know they were unprepared, but at this point it is simply taking too long to scale and increase with the demand. I am not going to write Poloniex off forever, but I don't see myself using the platform until they get this figured out. 

 I am going out of town for a siblings gradutation from college so I won't be posting for several days, but I will still be around as much as I can be. I urge you to leave any comments or disscussions below! Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

It's awful at the moment.
Good post, followed.

I think they provided a good explanation on their website IMO - people use POLO as it is the place to trade...clearly. I like all have been affected but view this wild wild west period as growing pains...even if costly to us early adopters.

I dont know if there is any way that they could have handles it perfectly, but for a finacial platform to be running into these types of issues its a bit deterring.

I recently switched to bittrex though I liked the interface of poloniex more. I never had any problems myself but all those negative news got me thinking. Guess, that's how you lose reputation.

It's a real pity that this happens. Especially during these recent days with a lot of trading opportunities. Many will to Bittrex probably. Let's hope they can handle the big inflow; downtime over there would also be very bad for cryptocurrency traders and reputation in general.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40