Bitfinix Exchange Under Fire After Losing 1% of ALL Bitcoin in Existence After Hack

in #bitcoin8 years ago

Bitfinix is facing serious scrutiny from the cryptocurrency community, as debate has formed over how an exchange claiming themselves to be the "most secure" could allow around $80,000,000 worth of Bitcoin to be stolen from them.

How could this play out? Will Bitfinix survive? Will Bitcoin continue to bounce back and thrive in price? Will victims be reimbursed? Should you trust any exchange with your assets?

Many questions abound, but gratefully no other assets, besides BTC, seem to have been affected.

Please, also, hit like if you appreciated the video, comment any and all thoughts (I read each and every one, and get back when I can), and don't forget to subscribe. I upload frequently, and try to get you the latest developments within the Bitcoin/cryptocurrency space, so hop on the bus if you haven't already :)

FACEBOOK PAGE: https://www.facebook.com/ethereumnewscrypt0/

TWITTER PAGE (FOLLOW FOR LIVE STREAM NOTIFICATIONS):
https://twitter.com/OmarBham

INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT:
omar_crypt0

Donate some Ether here to help this channel grow:
0x30faB7Dc42345904051621166A0369A2Ee9aA7D1

TTM!

Sort:  

suitcase in back seat

Hahaha, very true. I had it loaded with stuff for my move. You're welcome anytime you're in Miami.

Craig's always got the good eye and crypt0 is always moving or driving!

You called it, friend :)

I was watching this like "damn, it's windy outside" then I realized it was the AC... because I'm tired and apparently my brain is stupid when that happens. Still funny though, to me at least.

Nice to put a face to the name @crypt0 I also calculated the dollar amount to be around 70 to 80 million dollars. This is an unbelievable CF for bitfinix. This is a major hit for people who store their coins on an exchange and I think many people will pull out their coins. Is it possible to see where the coins went on the blockchain? Do they have an account pegged that received all these coins, or did multiple wallets receive payments from this hack? Thanks for the useful info you have provided as I am now a little more clear on what happened.

Hey Crypt0 I agree when crypto is a safe haven. That's why you tip on Jaxx is ace!

Do you think people should hold SBD or SP?

Thank you much for you videos.

#takeiteasy

I think Bitfinix will be the only thing truly affected....BTC seems to be bouncing back. I also think that a lot of BTC was used to pump ETC. This definitely is a word of wisdom that I need to heed, but we all need to think about how much money we have on these exchanges and to take precautions accordingly.

Is Kraken safe?

They are toast. I don't know how they will be able to continue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55336.50
ETH 2312.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33