You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unboxing and Review of Bitmain Antminer S9

in #bitcoin7 years ago

It is very good investment but the electricity it takes to run this machines isn't a joke. It is not the price of a machine that scares people, it is the cost of maintaining it.

Sort:  

That is true, however, with the current value of Bitcoin and Difficulty, the earnings care for the cost and still provide a good amount of return. That is assuming you don't live in a country with high electricity costs. Here in the US my monthly earning with electricity costs is 900+ USD and I ROI in less than 2 months. When I lived in the Philippines however, that was a completely different story where I had to consider the heat and the high electricity costs which would have nearly cut my current earnings by almost 2/3s.

I live in Canada. Our electricity costs are SOOO HIGH. I will probably get close to $2000.00 a month just to maintain it. But yes, I haven't really looked into doing it. It should be interesting to see to know more about them.

Did you order direct from Bitminer? I see a bunch of different items are sold out. Any alternatives that are reasonably priced?

Yep, I ordered directly from Bitmain. I pre-ordered 3 months before shipment. Knowing Bitmain, they will probably announce another batch of S9s after the Christmas break, however, you will probably need to wait 3 months before it ships out. That is their new operating model.

Appreciate the insight. Let us know how the mining is going once you have it all up and running.

They just announced another batch of S9s this morning for a February shipment.

There already sold out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54681.92
ETH 2286.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29