The Case for Adding Bitcoin to Your Crypto Portfolio

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)


I am so PUMPED right now because I have finally reached my goal of owning 1 full bitcoin! It has never felt so good to be one in 21 million. <3

A few months ago, I wrote a POST talking a bit more about my crypto investment strategy and that my latest goal was to reach one full bitcoin. After several months of hustling hard, I have finally arrived. In this video, I discuss why I think having some bitcoin in your portfolio is key.

Before we get into that though... I need to give a disclaimer! I am not an investment professional or financial planner of any kind. Please make sure you are doing your research and making decisions that are smart for YOU. If you are not sure what that looks like, perhaps finding an investment professional that understands the crypto market would be a good next step for you.

Why Invest in Bitcoin?



When I first joined the platform, I didn't have a penny of crypto to my name. A lot has changed in the last 8 months though. I have gone all in and have been funneling whatever fiat savings I can into the crypto market, in addition to investing my Steem earnings into (more Steem) and other coins.

I have not taken a single penny of my Steemit earnings out of the crypto market.



Don't get me wrong... I think the freedom Steem has afforded people is amazing. I just really believe in the future of this space and don't want to pull out anything until I really need it.

Even though those of us who are are involved in the crypto space tend to think, "But there are so many better coins out there!". Yes, this may be true, but there are still plenty of reasons to own Bitcoin.

  • It is still the "King of Crypto" and isn't likely to be de-throned anytime soon.

  • Bitcoin also has the greatest brand recognition of any coin in the space. As new investors look to expand their portfolios to include cryptocurrencies - they are likely to start with Bitcoin.

  • It is still the trading pair with most coins. This gives Bitcoin an incredible amount of value because we are basically forced to use it anytime we want to trade between coins or withdraw funds.

  • The long term potential value of Bitcoin is tremendous.

But Investing in Alt Coins is More Fun!



I literally could not agree more. That is part of why up until two months ago, I had spent all of my investment dollars in alt coins like Steem, NEO, EOS, Bitshares and more. There is something so exciting about supporting a coin that you think is "up and coming". There can also be tremendous rewards for accurately spotting an alt coin that might take off in it's infancy.

I hope one day we are all saying that about Steem! For example, I got into NEO when it was around $20. Although that does not make me an "early adopter" by any stretch - it still means I have made a fabulous return. Especially when it got as high as $170 months ago.

All of this to say, it can be easy to get swept up in the excitement of finding alt coins that you want to support. I hope that this article has encouraged you to consider adding more of the "bedrock" coins like Bitcoin and even Etherium into the mix for you.


One Last Disclaimer



Again, I just want to say that I am not an investment professional, but am more than willing to offer my thoughts and opinions - as long as they are taken as such.

Thank you for celebrating with me on this momentous occasion. I can't wait until one day I can point back to this post and say, "THIS was the day I earned my first bitcoin!". This is such a crazy, wild ride that we are all on and I'm glad to be on it with all of you. <3

Thank you to everyone who has supported me thus far in my Steemit journey and has helped make this goal a reality.

I hope you all have a fabulous night and please let me know if you have any thoughts or questions on what was covered in this video!

xo, Lea

8252C8CC-104B-4627-8598-393EC95AD810.jpeg


Equipment Used in this Vlog



In order to add an extra layer of transparancy and value to my vlog's, I will be adding a list of equipment used at the bottom of each one! If you ever have questions about the gear I use, or how I use it - please don't hesitate to ask.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks @coruscate! That was a fun little post. May two bitcoin be in your near future. Cheers!

Thank you!!

Well done on hitting your goal. You're going to be golden since your SBD cashflow will give you constant no-risk investment income to continue to diversify without any USD exposure.

With so many coin options out there, it's easy to get alt coin-A.D.H.D. (trrraddemark). I've forced myself to ship SBD for BTS and EOS for months now and will finally hit my BTS goal this week, before returning to EOS again. Steemit should be around for a while, so as all of the coins tend to move together, our purchasing power will likely be about level at any time - so there's no rush.

Two quick non-professional pieces of advice:

-Don't unplug on adding more BTC. Give it some occasional love to work up to 1.5-2+. Having 1 BTC locked up for holding long term, with surplus BTC for whatever, will give you more flexibility in the long run. Your earnings are solid on Steemit so the means will be there. There's a benefit to being an early adopter, but there's also some security in following the money.

-After this BTC here (and I'm sure you've already thought of it), I suggest keeping your volumes private and/or vague for personal security reasons.

Thanks for the really valuable pieces of advice. I think you make some great points about personal security and I should be more careful moving forward. Also, thanks for the encouragement to continue investing in bitcoin moving forward. I totally get alt coin ADHD or maybe it’s alt coins FOMO? Haha either way, it’s a good reminder to keep investing in some of the more established coins.

Congratulations!! I totally remember that post! I remember you talking about your goal to own a full bitcoin and now we are finally here. You deserve it, you work so hard here. Awesome:)

Aww thanks my friend! Awesome that you remembered that post from a few months ago!!

Congrats! "When you invest in bitcon or Ethereum your buying a piece of the track. Other coins are just betting on a horse" - One of the Winklevoss twins...can't remember which one.

Wow, that is a great way to put it!! I hadn’t heard that quote before, so thanks for sharing. 😊

1 Bitcoin your gonna be a millionaire in about 3 years ;)

Let's hope! See my comment for more on this!

Haha I sure hope so!! 😉

Congratulations on reaching your goal!

Not to one-up you, but my goal is to own 40 BTC. I have a sort of dream wishlist called "Everything I Could Want" and it would take $40M to have it all.

A few very smart people have suggested that bitcoin could someday reach a value of $1M per coin. So... over-simplifying everything and crossing my fingers... it's an exciting goal to reach 40 BTC in the hopes of it being worth $40M.

#stretchgoals

Thank you @shockmee! Best of luck on your goals as well. If you ever dream big - it will never happen, so good for you to shoot for the stars!!

Congratulations. My little portfolio is growing as well. The last few months were pretty tough but it looks like we're starting a new bull market. Have you noticed what's happening with Bitcoin Cash? I wish I had some. I suggest that you check out EOS, Cindicator and ZenCash. I think they have a lot of potential.

I havnt looked into Zencash or Cindicator... so thanks for mentioning those! Even though I’m excited that we are heading into more of a bull market... there were just so many more things I wish I could have bought at these lower prices! Haha

Yeaaaa! Congrats girl! Hard work pays off!! It was so awesome to meet you this last weekend! I wish we could have talked more!!! Let’s keep in touch and hopefully meetup soon!

Aww I feel the same way!! I had so much fun connected with you on that Friday and then we didn’t get to chat much more after that. I would love to stay in touch!! ♥️

Yea! I keep seeing all these posts about the karaoke night and it looks like it was so much fun!!! I wish we could have made it!! We need a redo ASAP!

Seriously. I’m all about doing karaoke with you guys!! I my would be fun to pick your brain on flipping furniture, property and houses sometime. Not that I’m looking to get into it right now... but I find that whole industry super intriguing! Maybe someday. 😊

Actually... that would be a GREAT idea for content. You could totally do blogs or vlogs about it. I bet a lot of people would find it interesting.

Absolutely!!! It's something I'm actually planning on doing but the house we're working on here in NE is super behind. Oooo You know what would be so fun?? We fly you our here and we do some episodes on me teaching you various things and us being badass chicks with powertools!!

OMG that sound amazing!! Hahah You know I would do that in a heartbeat!!

Hell yea chick! Let’s do it!

Now, I signed up on discord but I have no clue how to use it but Jake can show me.. do you have a discord channel (is that what it’s called) to get a hold of you on?

Yep, I’m on discord! If you start searching for the word Coruscate... you should see me pop up and you can send me a direct message. I’m not really the best at using discord either. It’s not that user friendly in my oninion!

Bitcoin are now massive platform for crypto trading

Congratulations!!! I appreciate the info. Personally, the only other crypto I own other than steem is bitcoin (I'm not an active trader). I'm no where near 1 whole coin yet but yeah, I think it's a great long-term investment for now. Cheers to your success!

Aww thanks my friend! It’s all about just keeping the forward momentum rolling - even if it’s just little steps at a time! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3804.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70