Desperate Man Dresses Up As Raccoon To Steal Bitcoins

in #bitcoin6 years ago

From News BTC


Cyber-criminals attempting to con people out of their Bitcoin are getting more and more creative — but we’ve never seen anything like this: a would-be victim has convinced a Bitcoin scammer to paint his face like a raccoon and rifle through his neighbor’s trash can. The pictures of their interaction and resulting photos have since gone viral as the prankster somehow got the Egyptian conman to comply with strange demands.

As reported by the Irish Mirror, Belfast man Neil Murphy, 34, was sent a friend request on Facebook with messages inquiring about Bitcoin. Murphy’s suspicions were immediately aroused that it could be a scam, but he decided to have some fun.

Instead of telling Yousef, who said he was from Egypt, to leave him alone, he agreed to send him 0.15 Bitcoin if Yousef dressed up as a raccoon and foraged through his neighbor’s trash cans. When Yousef asked for $100 worth of Bitcoin in a bid to secure the deal, Murphy said:

“I cannot trust you. I have been scammed before. “Last time I sent somebody the Bitcoin and he sent me a picture of him dressed as a badger instead of a racoon and he didn’t even scavenge in a bin.”

Read more: https://www.newsbtc.com/2018/03/26/desperate-man-dresses-up-raccoon-steal-bitcoins/

I love these tales of turning the tables on would be scammers. It seem the more generic "bitcoin scammer" is replacing our old Nigerian princes.

Leave your thoughts in the comments below.


Follow @contentjunkie to stay up to date on more great posts like this one.


Click one of the links below to signup for a free crypto trading account



Sort:  

For future viewers: price of bitcoin at the moment of posting is 8000.20USD

Quite humorous! Thanks for sharing.

These are so funny. I had a guy once who I messed around with for a couple weeks. It was kind of funny seeing how mad he got when I wouldn't answer his questions, or when I answered his questions with questions, or when I sent him on a wild goose chase at a fake bank with a fake account number, and then corrected it, with an obviously fake number again. Then I attached a photoshopped advertisement for a free toaster, saying how I was supposed to get my free toaster with the new bank account he had told me to open, and why didn't he make sure I got it....it was so funny how he got all confused about the toaster. I seriously will never forget that. It was a little mean on my part, but I loved every minute. I'm not gunna lie.

Now is'nt that something new...

Criminals are most probably the most creative of people, but I still say cheaters never prosper...

Best we educate crypto newbs into staying away from things that are to good to be true...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68