You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gold or Bitcoin, What Would You Choose as Money?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I come from the third world, I grew up with daily blackouts so I'm not at all concerned because that's normal to me, I know what to expect. I don't have to guess what would happen...

If someone tried selling rocks to me during a situation like that I probably wouldn't be able to contain the laughter.

Sort:  

And I know people that if I tried to give them crypto for anything in that situation, they would laugh and ask for gold or silver. We are both colored by our experience and knowledge.

I never said crypto would be desirable, neither would be if we all lost electricity. There may be a few people willing to grab gold and cash for the first week or so, then they would realize you can't eat those.

Remember you wouldn't have apps to make the hook up between the seller and a potential buyer, so you will have to disclose you are holding possibly to strangers making yourself vulnerable.

I'm not going to try to put my experience above yours, but take this perspective from some who has gone months without electricity or running water...we've already built pretty much everything that could make metals desirable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49