Lightning Network Questions: Adding more funds to a payment channel

in #bitcoin7 years ago

1. Say I have a payment channel open with a friend with a 1 BTC limit.

What happens when I want to increase that limit? Must we close down the payment channel entirely (settling all balances on-chain) and opening up a new one with a higher limit of funds?

2. How are fee's charged for each hop? Nodes just set a fixed rate? A %? Is it resonable to think fee's on LN might drop to zero if only a handful of altruistic crypto-zealots decide to run well funded LN nodes to funnel all zero fee transactions?
We know TOR works and that has zero fees. So I would assume it could work for BTC as well. Right?

Let's please avoid any argumentation pro or against the Lightning Network and focus on the two question.

Thanks (:

Sort:  

This works to rebalance the channel, but it does not add any funds to it. There is still only 1 BTC in the channel. The funds from the on-chain transaction goes into Bob's personal Bitcoin wallet, and is not on the lightning network. It does nothing to increase the size of the channel.

This technique may prove to be useful to prevent channels from becoming unbalanced, so I don't mean to imply that this is not useful. It is also important to note that a similar technique could work by using an alternate lightning route from Alice to bob

1- Stop Limit orders will limit you to sell at a price below the price you entered, but your order may not be fully realized. The most important thing to note about stop orders is that orders will be triggered at the triggered price.
The numbers appearing at the best bid or ask price will not trigger stop orders. Only stop orders will trigger the prices of actual sales transactions.
2-Tor was originally developed by David Goldschlag, Michael Reed and Paul Syverson in the US Navy laboratories for safe communications in the early 1990s. In 2002, working with Paul Syverson, Roger Dingledine and Nick Mathewson, the TOR Network, now known as the Tor Project, emerged.

Now Syverson claims that Tor is not as safe as he actually believes, based on his recent work (in collaboration with Aaron Johnson, Chris Wacek, Rob Jansen and Micah Sherr).

Those don't really address the questions though. Unless I'm missing something in your response to answer 1.
Wait are you a bot? :p

I'm definitely not a bot 😊 I just wanted to be a useful comment for other people who read your share. And so I did some research and I wrote that.😊😊

"Tor was originally developed by David Goldschlag, Michael Reed and Paul Syverson in the US Navy laboratories for safe communications in the early 1990s. In 2002, working with Paul Syverson, Roger Dingledine and Nick Mathewson, the TOR Network, now known as the Tor Project, emerged." Yess I agree thats true !! @slayer10 @cob

Really don't no much about the cryptocurrency , just getting to know about it when i joind the steemit community ,am always looking forward to learn more from you guys .thanks

LN is a two transaction off chain centralized ledger. You and your buddy control the transactions but unless you have a LN node you are at the hands of the node operators doing it. Since it's off chain it's not doing all the proof of work complex math to keep track of transactions.

I wouldn't buy into the LN concept it's not bitcoin, sure it has two spots on the main bitcoin chain, but the rest is off chain and not bitcoin.

It's a PR move to give people hope that bitcoin can scale, it cannot scale, it's a toy crypto project when you really understand the needs of big data to scale to a global currency level.

It's why TPTB that control Bitcoin (1% of wallets control 99% of bitcoin wealth) are letting the bs that LN is the answer to scaling of Bitcoin.

There's so many better crypto projects around today, I wouldn't even consider Bitcoin today for investing in.

I called the top at 19K for my investors that pay me alot to make calls. I said it would be 10K very soon and it was in days.

Now I'm calling $5K for new floor on Bitcoin, serious investors know the coin is broken and LN is not the fix.

So the answers are you are at the mercy of the node operators and each channel exists only for that set amount since the total amount of the channel is locked into the main blockchain and as such it is immutable and cannot be altered.

So you got your two answers from a guy that has been doing crypto for think tanks for 5 decades since when I was a young kid I was theorizing 6 dimensional math equations for AI computers that don't even exist yet.

When they are created in this level of awareness they will be able to create this illusion easily.

Hologram Universe Theory that's my theory and it was theorized over 40 years ago when I was 16 in a think tank.

https://holographicuniverses.com

You're welcome.

I’m not sure about Lightening Network but you may be able to set something similar up with the Robinhood app once they add all their functionality. They are advertising a zero fee service, and I am assuming 1BTC+ would not be a problem.

Sorry I couldn’t solve your issue, hope you figure something out. Cheers.

It's a huge difference between transfering bitcoin as the crytocurrency and transfering bitcoin through a site of exchange. Imagine normal transfer is that we see each other and I send u a handful of money and imagine the transfer of bitcoin is just that I send you a notepad in which I promise that I will give you this money when you will want to withdraw it.

Right. Lightning Network keeps you in control of your own BTC at all times. No one can run off with them.

that Being said, I have no idea about Robinhood. I've seen it mentioned so I should probably look into it. Thanks.

I would just share my personal opinion. I do not understand the lighting network that well but I'll write down my food of thought for the first question.

  1. I think that you need to open a new channel / switch to a one available for you. Lighting network, as I see it, is more about small tranzactions so everything lesser than 1 BTC should be fine in terms of utility. Buying a coffee, buying electronics, buying food or clothes would be all possible.
    Also, once implemented and mass adopted we might see a huge drop in bitcoin's main network in terms of transactions, unconfirmed transactions and taxes, of course.

It's a tremendous contrast between transfering bitcoin as the crytocurrency and transfering bitcoin through a site of trade. Envision ordinary exchange is that we see each other and I send u a modest bunch of cash and envision the exchange of bitcoin is only that I send you a notebook in which I guarantee that I will give you this cash when you will need to pull back it.

Me parece muy cierta tu argumento! gracias por compartir.
Me gustaria que me apoyaras en una iniciativa en la cual independientemente estoy contruyendo gracias y saludos.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@jesusj1/newborns-need-your-help-or-o-or-giving-love-in-its-first-days-por-favor-ayuda

Very good information @cob, this is very useful for everyone, especially for me who just joined in steemit. This is very useful, because I do not yet understand about steemit labih far. So from me always find out about steemit from various posts of people who have long joined in steemit. I really want to be as successful as you in working in steemit, and can have many friends to share. But I am very sad already one month I joined, I have no one want to be friends with me. But I will not give up, and I will keep trying to be as successful as others. Because I'm sure, that success takes hard work, effort and never give up. Greetings know from me and hope you will be more successful in working in steemit.
thank you....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55