You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Open Letter Of Thanks To Ross Ulbricht

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Interesting to see that takedown notice after a few years... At the time, people were pointing at the camel watermark in the background and saying it was fake, why would these agencies put the watermark of the site. People figured Dread Pirate Roberts took down the site and ran off with their money... Btw, it's never really a good idea to keep your funds on a drug dealing website.

I sent a letter to Ross myself a few days ago. Took me a little while to write... I figure he has some time to read so I wrote some 7000 words.

Thanks for sharing your story Erika.

Sort:  

Thanks, @churdtzu. 7,000 words? Wow!

I was curious about the camel watermark, and figured it was comparable to Chicago's "vehicle immobilization program," where the city comes 'round and slaps on a yellow boot to the tire of cars that have accrued more than 3 vehicular tickets...

Perhaps, similarly, these agencies put their stamps of paralysis on top of the seized site?

Don't know if that's a reasonable or viable explanation for the watermark... not that the agencies "put" the site's watermark... but that they just overlayed theirs in the seizing? I dunno. I just perceive Ross as the victim here, not as a thief who happened to get busted.

Right... Well, it was weird, because the only thing on the site was the seizure notice, just as a picture. So it was like they screencapped the logo, then put their notice on top of it. So a lot of people thought it was fake. Basically, people thought that the federal agencies weren't even involved, and so they thought that Dread Pirate Roberts was a thief. We can rule out that possibility now.

Yeah I sent Ross a big ass letter telling stories about Anarchapulco, about my performance, Jeff getting up and rapping... all kinds of fun stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57136.05
ETH 2350.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40