You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin vs Dash - Which is the currency of the future?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

You mine for it, but that doesn't mean it relies on the idea that value spent is value stored. That doesn't follow. Precious metals have value because people see them as valuable, and it's the same with Bitcoin.

I'm willing to consider what you're saying, but I find it very difficult to imagine what you're describing.

A good currency should have stability, yes, and bitcoin has gained more stability over time. However, it would be very difficult for a currency to retain exactly the same amount of value, with one pound always and everywhere buying 10 loaves of bread, ten pounds always buying a ladder or something like that. Is that the kind of thing you're describing, or have I misunderstood.

I have no problem with currency being both a measure of value and a store of value, though obviously it's an imperfect measure of value because of the factors I've mentioned. I'd say all forms of money are commodities in some sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49