Setting up my Ledger Nano S

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Today my Ledger Nano S hardware wallet arrived in the registered mail.
The device is no bigger than a USB memory stick. Annoyingly the device required a cable to plug into the my laptop (cable is provided but too long - inconvenient to carry around).

The setup was fairly self explanatory as far as a Bitcoin wallet was concerned.
To install the Litecoin wallet, I needed to upload the Litecoin app onto the Ledger using the Ledger Manager (a Chrome Extension). Litecoin still uses the same Ledger Wallet Bitcoin Chrome Extension - which is convenient.

However, for Ethereum another Chrome Extension is needed: Ledger Wallet Ethereum. That is a nuisance to have to install another extension. Hopeful, in time, Ledger will merge the Ethereum chrome extension and the Bitcoin chrome extension into one.

I tested on both Windows 10 and Apple OS and both worked without issues.

The Ledger Nano S seems to not be a device that I will want to carry around every day one my keyring. The fact that it has the logo so prominent on its case is not an advantage in my opinion.

After power cycling or device timeout, the 4-digit pin select at setup must be reentered. The fact that the pin is clearly visible while entering, is also not a great security feature. I think this could be dealt with differently.

The design of user experience reinforces for me that the usecase for this device is more akin to a cold store.

During the setup the user is asked to note (backup) the 24 word passphrase onto a card provided. Again I think it would be better to not have the logo on that card - of course there is nobody forcing me to use that card.

Useful link:
http://support.ledgerwallet.com/knowledge_base/topics/how-to-import-slash-recover-a-backup-on-a-nano-s

Sort:  

great, i want to buy ledger nano s to but it is not available in our country, amazon don't deliver in the philippines, and when i go to the site of LEDGER NANO S, its hard to order, i don't know what to put on the address 1, 2, 3

may i know were your order that stuff? thanks

I ordered directly from the Ledger Shop (their website). I order it in the second week of June and it arrived this week - I am also not in the US.
Hope you can find a way to get it shipped to you.

HOW MUCH DID YOU PAY FOR THE TAX? or how much did it cost in all?

58.00 € not including shipping - I can see no tax as extra charge.
shipping was relatively expensive at 23.70 €

thanks for the info

UPDATE: Nice video on the subject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44