You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tried to get into the Arise ICO; their website and email are both broken!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

thank you for this information. If a company cannot even manage the technical aspects of the ICO, than this is a red-flag for investing in my view. Howe are they ever going to be able to properly code their own project...sad, but it tells you a lot about the market...

Sort:  

Yes, I completely agree. I also consider shoddy marketing material to be an indicator of the quality of people they hire, and would be wary of the code they produce. And I mean that in any software endeavor. In my career I strove to produce output that was flawless. Sometimes this results in more time spent than the average person would; I re-read everything I write until I perform a full pass without making a change. That's generally five or six passes. But it matters to me, because many more people than me will read it, so if it takes me five extra minutes for it to make more sense, such that they each don't have to spend a minute wondering over it before they get it, I think I've done a good job.

Not all managers have seen eye to eye. That's also a joke, because one of mine doesn't work (from birth).

Also, now I am recovering from multiple concussions, so multiply re-reading what I've written helps me to remember it better. One of the people in my monthly brain injury support group (which I highly recommend, it has helped immensely) is writing science fiction, I'll ask her about it next time and see if she's interested in putting her writing here.

I recall an HR manager whose signature at one point was something like, "People don't remember what you told them; they don't remember what you did for them; they do remember how you treated them." I really like that, and try to live it. Although I forget a lot.

Anyway I'm rambling. But you're right -- be careful what you put your money into.

Especially for utility tokens I would also look for possibilities of the company to stop using the token. If I have a super nice business service that everybody want to use it does not help me if they can just start accepting ETH instead of their original token at a later stage.

The support rep sounded defensive when he said they weren't working on an ERC-20 token, it's its own cryptocurrency. (I hadn't said Ethereum token, I just said "token code".)

Be that as it may, your observation is exactly correct: one scenario could be -- they are taking ETH in, and can abandon their poorly-coded cryptocurrency without any risk, even if it is poorly coded and their wallets even leak -- because they're not putting anything into those wallets. The ETH goes into their fast cars and nosebleeds.

Note that this is pure speculation, I know very little about this company other than having gotten a newsletter mentioning it, and remembering having seen it discussed here somewhere, or one of the coin news sites I read, and so figured I'd put the minimum in and see what happens.

Didn't think I'd get a post out of the experience! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47