My Portfolio

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I first got into crypto in one of the worst times and a good portion was spent during the big run up most coins had in mid to late December and early January. Since then I have been adding more and more to my portfolio because I believe in crypto for the long term. Below is a short summary of my thought process for all of my positions. Please comment below for feedback on my portfolio and what you think of these coins and if you have any similar positions. Please be aware I am not a fan boy of any specific coin and if I feel a coin has value then I will invest in it.

  1. BCH: To start I must say that I am neither a fanboy of BTC or BCH and I do believe BTC is Bitcoin but I do see value in BCH. Sending BTC from exchange to exchange is not very cost effective, it is slow and the fees are much higher than BCH, LTC, and ETH (especially when there is more traffic). BCH has lower fees than BTC does and I can see a scenario where BCH can gain a lot of market share from BTC, especially from the newer investors who have less of a connection to BTC like some long time investors do. Kucoin recently gave BCH its own trading pair and if more exchanges follow that and add BCH trading pairs, the price will skyrocket (plus being on Coinbase helps).

  2. LTC: LTC was the first coin I purchased because I had a newbie mindset and thought I can get whole coins with LTC vs partials with ETH and BTC. I do believe in LTC and love the idea of digital currencies that can be widely accepted. Litepay is a big step towards that even if the receiving party doesn’t actually receive LTC.

  3. TRX: I first bought it around 3 cents and stupidly didn’t sell anything when it went 10X in gains. As the price started to drop I bought at 15 cents, 10 cents, and 5 cents. My thought process was right but as a more experienced investor I wish I didn’t put as much as I did into 1 coin that I don’t plan on keeping for the long term as I see more value with other projects and TRX’s road map goes to like 2026 or something like that. When TRX goes back to 30 cents I plan on taking most of that profit and putting it into BTC/ETH as I don’t have big positions in either.

  4. BTG: I see value in BTG because it has replay protection (can reverse a transaction if you put the wrong address) and I like the idea of allowing single people to profit from mining vs BTC where only big rigs can profit from it. Another big reason I invested, is they are working on being listed on GDAX (Coinbase) and if you don’t believe me you can go to their website and see that it is listed as a coming soon exchange.

  5. ZCL: I first heard about ZCL right after Christmas when it had a huge run up to around $90. The reason for this if you didn’t know already is that they are forking ZCL and BTC to create Bitcoin Private (BTCP) and in the long run I believe it will be a top privacy coin. They are giving BTCP on a 1:1 basis for both ZCL and BTC and it is much easier to obtain 1 ZCL than 1 BTC. I plan on keeping my ZCL until the snapshot and will dump it after (even at a loss) and when BTCP hits the exchanges I plan on buying more.

  6. ETH: During ETH’s big run up to $1,400 I had sold most of my ETH (stupid newbie) and put it into TRX. I don’t fully regret it but I wish I didn’t sell as much as I did. I love ETH and most of my money being put into crypto is now going to ETH (o well, live and learn). Every week I am cost avgering myself to slowly rebuild my ETH position.

  7. STEEM: I first heard about Steemit, because like many millennials, I was trying to find a new source of income and have heard how bad Youtube was. I love STEEM and do believe it has a very bright future and want to be a part of that.

  8. DRGN/ICX/KMD/KNC/ADA/NULS: I grouped all of these coins together because I had the same thought process for them, they are all either decentralized exchanges/platforms/privacy coins (KMD). I believe for crypto to go more mainstream, businesses need to be able to build on platforms to benefit their business, and not have coins as only a means of investment/sending & receiving money. Some of these projects are much further along in their road map than others but besides ETH these are some of my favorite coins and whenever I can, I will continue to add to their positions. **There are a few coins I haven’t invested in yet that I really do love: ZRX, LRC, AST, BNT, WAX, UBIQ, and hope to invest in them in the near future before the next bull run.

  9. ETC: I seperated ETC from the others in 8 because it is going to give an airdrop of Callisto at the end of the month on a 1:1 basis. Callisto aims to be ETC’s scalability solution vs ETH’s Sharding plan. Callisto is a side chain as to not bog down the main blockchain like what has happened with ETH. As with BCH and BTC, I am not a fanboy of ETH or ETC but see big value in both as they are very similar in coding language and it would be easier to port a project from ETH to ETC than moving it from ETH to NEO or ADA for example. I am more bullish on ETH simply because most tokens are built on ETH but I won’t rule out that potentially changing in the future.

  10. BNB/COB: I invested in BNB because it is my favorite exchange, it has a beautiful app with a great UI. When BNB dipped from $20 to around $12 I had to buy some. I was an early investor in COB and signed up in the beta phase of their rollout. Both of these tokens I will keep for the long term because they are 2 of my favorite exchanges and for the time being centralized exchanges will run the markets over decentralized exchanges.

  11. The remaining coins I have small positions in but I do like XEM, ETN, and BCD and plan on adding to those positions. I originally had a much bigger position in XRP as it was one of my first purchases but the more I researched it, I didn't like how centralized it was and the only reason I have a position still is because its on cold storage and not on an exchange. The rest of my positions are long shots I took when I first got into the market and since they are down with the recent pullback it doesn’t make sense to sell them now.

Sort:  

Congratulations @chris.perrotta! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68