You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Open Letter Of Thanks To Ross Ulbricht

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Nice post. And while Ross' story is indeed frustrating to many of us, your story of reminds me of something I heard just recently.

In 2012, my friend's son (who was 13 at the time), managed to use his mum's credit card to get on silk road to buy bitcoins and then weed from Sweden and have it sent to Australia. And it totally worked! Obviously when my friend found out she wasn't happy and he was grounded.

He also told her she should buy bitcoin. Ah if only she'd listened. It's probably the smartest thing that's ever come out of his mouth.

Sort:  

Ha! Great story, @choogirl. And what a bright young boy. I'd be curious to see what kinds of things he's into now... at the ripe age of 18. He was forward-seeing at 13, and probably continues to be.

I've got major regret for not having held any of the BTC I bought back then.

When I tried to explain to my friends what I was doing, I compared the process to taking your fiat dollar to an arcade, loading it into a machine, and getting "tokens" dispensed back to you so you could play the games. (The arcade was SR, the games were each vendor.) But, yeah... $3K tokens! #hindsight

He's about to finish school in December and when I asked my friend what he wants to do next year she said his response to that question is "I don't know so I'll probably just do accounting". I told her she needs to tell him to chase his dreams before he ends up being an auditor at KPMG.

Yeah, we all wish we'd bought bitcoins back then. Oh well, live and learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57136.05
ETH 2350.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40