Sort:  

I wonder what that will end up being, Bitcoin cash or Eth I guess.

Maybe. In the long run I'd love to see BTS or EOS get the gig, not just because of performance but they both promise a lot of relevant features.

Short term I think Tether USDT might get the gig. Polo and Bittrex already use it extensively so if BTC gets messy it might not be a big shift to list everything in USDT until one of the Bitcoins reasserts dominance.

I'd be pretty surprised if we saw a big move into Tether. I admittedly know little about tether, but how do they prove that each of their units is backed by $1 that can't be stolen by an ansider?

I'm not suggesting it so much as a big move into Tether, but more that it is a USD peg that can be used as an intermediary in the absence of a clear "king crypto" - which we might have if the SegWit2x fork splits the Bitcoin market cap into 2 halves. A lot of people still look at USD value of cryptos so using USDT would be reflective of that.

If you look at Poloniex, for example. Beyond the BTC trading pairs you have 8 x XMR pairs, 9 x ETH pairs and 12 x USDT pairs....so does that suggest USDT would be next in line if BTC has problems? I think maybe.

Interesting. I don't trade at Poloniex, and my exchanges have a lot fewer Tether pairs

Thanks for the info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65885.06
ETH 3440.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65