Bitcoin Price Diary: 6 Altcoins That Are Currently Making Me Avoid BTC

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Since publishing the last trading journal two weeks ago, I have made a number of altcoin trades but not a single Bitcoin (BTC) trade other than closing my long from $6,900 in segments between $7,550 and $7,700. Currently, I am trading Matic Network (MATIC), WePower (WPR), Zilliqa (ZIL), Verge (XVG), Fantom (FTM) and ChainLink (LINK). In the last journal, I detailed a 2% positional loss on my REN trade which had an entry at .00000603 Satoshis (sats) and closed at .00000590 (sats).

I made a 14% gain trading DOCK, 32% on Harmony (ONE), 39% on Fetch.AI (FET), and I closed the last portion of my VET trade for over 100%. I should also mention that I broke even on my ArpaChain (ARPA) trade as I was stopped out at entry. Needless to say, it’s been an incredible two weeks of trading!

Closing the Bitcoin position

I had been focused on Bitcoin’s monthly chart and hoped for a close above the key $7,777 support to signal that further price appreciation was likely. This is where I closed much of my position from $6,900.

It was not to be, although price did manage to break the line temporarily on smaller time frames. The monthly candle closed at roughly $7,550, which is where I exited the remainder of the position as I viewed the close below $7,777 as a support break.

For now, I will be watching the aforementioned level to see if it flips to support and I will also watch the lower level at $6,540 to see if it holds as support. This would be very simple from a macro perspective. My decision to close the trade at an average price of $7,625 secured a 10.5% gain on the position.
MATIC/BTC
Entry: .00000348 (sats)

Targets: .00000447 (sats), .00000573 (sats)

Stop loss: .00000336 (sats)

Risk / reward: Target 1 = 8.25, Target 2 = 18.75

Entry Idea
I have been watching MATIC ascend for weeks, missing multiple entries by a few sats at each level of support. While the initial idea is posted below, I missed entries at both .00000212 (sats) and .00000279 (sats).

My late entry was risky as the price had already gone parabolic, but I was willing to take a position in case the price continued to all-time highs. I entered on the retest of resistance as support at .00000348 (sats).

How did it work out?

I closed the majority of the position at .00000460 (sats) for a 32.1% gain. I left the remainder of the position in play just in case Matic takes a shot at the all-time high and potentially beyond.

I closed the majority of the position at .00000460 (sats) for a 32.1% gain. I left the remainder of the position in play just in case Matic takes a shot at the all-time high and potentially beyond.

Sort:  

Congratulations @btcointelegraph! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83