You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Long Will Cryptocurrency Last?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Let me start by saying I agree with a lot of what you are saying. This was definitely a fired up post that went our pretty quickly. I am aware its not a well rounded argument with cited sources. I didn't take the time to go into detail on every branch of the tree. This question is from someone who does not know much about Crypocurrencies to someone who is deep in it. So this is coming from a place of frustration and venting, to a large degree.

Everyone has every right to have their opinion. I am simply advocating, educating yourself a bit before you jump in the ring and throw empty terms around. The core principles of blockchain are a threat to the banks and governments, so of course, they are going to try to stop it. Who, exactly is this "they" that you speak of, anyway? This is a worldwide thing. Not a US thing. Governments in many other countries are adopting blockchain technology, including the banks in the US! This is a decentralized movement. It does not need to US. It does not need China. Its arrogant to think we are the beginning and the end. This simple fact is the beauty in this movement.

The revolution I refer to is not one with guns. Its a revolution of mind and spirit and it will take lazy motherfuckers a long time to make positive changes for themselves and others, but I believe it will happen on a long enough timeline. Do I need to quote Ghandi or something? The most effective way to make things better is to educate yourself. Strengthen your mind.

You, sir, seem to have a very pessimistic view of humanity.

"Do you want cryptocurrency to last? Make the public care about it. Offer them something other than hollow virtues about the far off future they don't care about and give them something now. What's it good for? Can they get it? Can they use it? Does it cost money? How much? Is it safe? Will they be in trouble for using it? Is it easy to use? This is all they care about."
--I completely agree and I will implement this type of thinking in future work. These are all good questions and...yes...If I wrote a book about Cryptocurrencies they would be in there. A lot of companies are working on solving these issues, so the UI's are simple and easy to use. I'm all for it.

At the end of the day, if we dont implement some serious groundbreaking use cases from some of these crypto/blockchain projects the movement may die. I think the chances of this movement dying is extremely unlikely, though. The gamble on which sub $1 coin will go up next alone is enough to keep this thing going for a while. Let alone all the positive ways our lives can change from widespread implementation of this technology. The more people who are drawn in from some marketing tactic, the more people who are aware of Crypto, the more people (small percentage) will end up deep down the rabbit hole, the closer we are to serious change. This takes time. We are still aways off, but you cant put pandora back in the box.

I appreciate your thoughtful reply. In the end, this discourse is healthy and will hopefully result in growth for both sides.

Cheers!

Sort:  

I wouldn't call my view pessimistic, I am ruled by an apathetic practicality in all matters regarding humanity.

Regardless, I do understand that you made the post fired up and hammered it out quick which I believe I addressed right away in not so many words. There's plenty to be said regarding advocacy and I, too, am advocating in my own way. This emerging crypto world is full of people who seem to forget both the purpose and process of a currency, I'm sorry to be the one to say it, but an aimless revolution is quite useless. Do you know how long I rode the "bring down the banks" train? A year. By 2010 I had realized that the progress was not keeping up with the promises, it's a timeline that has saw Bitcoin transition from something you could buy illicit drugs with into a bloated make-believe commodity where transactions are both expensive and slow. This is not going to change anything and, honestly, the altcoins out there are just baby bitcoins with the same fundamental flaws and fundamental problems.

Gambling on coins is not going to make a lick of difference, in that case it will always be this silly game that people can play until regulation happens and the game is up. That's what I referred to when I said, Until then, it's a race against the clock." Yes, actually, this can go back in Pandora's box. "They" are the power structure you're railing against, they have no interest in your whimsical dreams because it is inherently disadvantageous for them to indulge them. This is a threat to the status quo, and honestly the elephant in the room that nobody wants to acknowledge is that bad people can, have, and will continue to do bad things with cryptocurrency. Do you know how difficult it is to fund a clandestine terrorist group? There are counterterrorism units dedicated to chasing terrorist groups through their money, I would not be surprised if bitcoin has been used to shift funds from sponsor to network to cell. You're not prepared for that hitting the public's consciousness, and as I've said already if some talking head asks the magic question you can be sure the game will be up. There will not be an unregulated crypto game for normal people after that, the USA will be first to cook up draconian legislation and then it will be the EU. Prices will fall through the floor and so many people will be left holding the bag if there isn't a cryptocurrency used as an everyday currency by this time.

So about those questions. All those questions I posed aren't solvable by UI, it takes a fundamentally stable market for this to work as a currency and for this to truly change anything. Currently no coin is displaying the market behavior necessary for stability, the issue of, "I need to see if my internet monies are worth what I thought they were worth," is a glaring fault that will exclude any and all widespread adoption by the regular person. People don't want digital nothings that go up and down while they sleep, potentially leaving them without a means to feed their children, they want things to work. They want the stuff they have to remain there, forever, until they need to use it. People do not have the time, energy, or patience for the market game under ideal circumstances and absolutely none if their children's welfare are on the line.

This isn't pessimism, this is as pragmatic as I can possibly be and the clock is ticking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26