Explaining Bitcoin to Noob's

in #bitcoin7 years ago

images-2.jpeg

In my personal network I have become the trail blazer in the crypto universe. I have a few friends that have taken the crazy pill with me and are in turn incredible grateful. I also have some friends that are smarter then me...asking the same series of questions. Nearly all of them, send me researching, trying to find the holes of cryptocurrencies.

The problem is I come back to the convo and they have no idea what I am talking about - and hence don't really believe - I mean try and explain quantum computing to someone...

My guess is I'm not the only one on steem thats faced these noobs...and I believe when 1st world peeps start truly adopting bitcoin...not just as an investment but as an actual currency...global commerce will change dramatically in favor of individuals and away from corrupanies (governments included).

So here are a few of the questions with some basic answers to handle the noobs and keep them interested...

-1. Bitcoin isn't real money.

Tell Microsoft, Expedia and Virgin Airlines that.

-2. What if bitcoin gets hacked?

8 years running and it hasn't been hacked yet. You would actually need someone to access over half the bitcoin users computers at the same time in order to mess with the blockchain. You should actually watch a tedtalk on the blockchain. That will give you some understanding if you really want it.

-3. What if they shut down the internet?

Who is "they"? And if "they" shutdown the internet we will have much bigger problems then money, like food. But yes with no internet there would be no crypto's.

-4. I don't like bitcoin because that's what they use on the dark web.

Oh really? You use the dark web? Did you know the dark web existed before bitcoin? Do you understand the reason its used on the dark web? Because its secure. Have you been watching whats happening in Greece? Venezuela? Zimbabwe? When the government backs your money - that means they own it, and can access it when they want. The power of bitcoin is that the government doesn't own it. You do. But yes, most of the dark web activities are heinous - but thats not bitcoins fault. You should probably research the process of the three mentioned countries above falling apart. Or the 2008 bailout in America if you are really interested.

Obviously, these are loaded questions - but I have found that most people don't really want to discuss in length any of them. I have found these four responses to be pretty helpful in keeping people engaged, and at least getting them to think for themselves...which I think is the goal - that we use our brains?

steem on friends

Sort:  

It all just confuses the hell out of me...good post. Upvoted!

no kidding - try and leave the technical stuff to people smart on that stuff...

This post has received a 100% upvote and a resteem from @melowd. Thank You for sharing.
For more information, click here!

appreciate that

Followed and Upvoted. I post a lot about Crypto, music, and sports too! Check it out sometime and send me a follow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87