My Bitcoin and Crypto Portfolio: the 4th issue

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hi everyone, I have been a cryptocurrency and cryptoassets investor since 2013. I send a regular newsletter describing my crypto portfolio every few weeks. This is the 4th one, and while I usually publish them on my blog, I wanted to try Steemit because it's an interesting product and I hold a small number of STEEM tokens.

As of early May, the following assets represent >1% of my current portfolio:

  • Bitcoin BTC: 57%
  • Ethereum ETH: 23%
  • NEM XEM: 6%
  • Dash DASH: 4%
  • ZClassic ZCL: 1%
  • Pepecash PEPECASH: 1%
  • Monero XMR: 1%

These assets are sub-1%: Litecoin LTC, Ethereum Classic ETC, Zcash ZEC, Decred DCR, Emercoin EMC, Counterparty XCP, Aeon AEON, Storjcoin SJCX, Ripple XRP, and Bitshares BTS.

A few weeks ago I sent a summary of my working cryptocurrency investment theses. Thanks to those who gave feedback and asked questions and challenged my thinking!

The crypto market is doing very well. My cautious prediction was $100B USD total market cap by 2020 but we may see that before this year is over! Regardless of whether or not this constitutes a "bubble", I think the fundamentals of crypto are stronger than ever. Innovation. Experimentation. Talent. Growth in multiple use cases. Software is eating the world, and crypto is eating money.

My investment strategy is currently a mix of:

  1. Hold big positions in the leading assets with the strongest fundamentals - for example, BTC and ETH. My target is probably closer to 50% BTC instead of the 57% today

  2. Take sizable "flyer" bets on interesting use cases that could see breakout price growth in the next 3-6 months - for example, ZCL and Pepecash (I'm writing a separate long essay on Pepecash to clarify my thinking and explain what the hell it's all about, but it's perhaps the only asset I actually enjoy following, as opposed to most of the rest in which greed now predominates)

  3. Diversify into different categories of coins and assets because long-term, we don't know who will win and what use cases will prove popular - Dash for its marketing and self-funding and potential to cross the chasm, NEM for its Asia presence and hybrid of private + public chains and quietly competent development team

I still need to calculate my April returns versus benchmarks and will share that when it's ready.

Two general interest links for you to read:

  1. The Cambridge cryptocurrency study

  2. Smith and Crown on the proliferation of tokens (aka ICOs) and how to categorize them

"We have the tech of 93 combined with the hype of 99." - Sergej Kotliar

None of the above should be considered investment advice and approach this whole market with two giant doses of caution and skepticism.

Cheers,

Kevin (@kgao)

Sort:  

Nice man :D you where spot on congratzz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38