You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unboxing and Review of Bitmain Antminer S9

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Excellent post. I'm curious as to if it would be worth to just grab one of these at the moment and slowly work my way up from there, what would you recommend?

Sort:  

That is how I started. slowly built myself up and re-invest some of the earnings to buy more ASICs. I think cryptocurrencies are still young and new and still have a lot more potential.

Sweet, thank you. I'm debating on buying an asic or building an eth/xmr/zcash/etc mining rig with gpus.

I think it's win/win if you are in it for the long run. I am putting together another GPU rig right now for ETH mining. I'll post about it once it is complete. Earnings will be less, however, there is still a lot of potential.

Earnings will be less, but you can mine different coins with gpus. I just don't know if I want to start with asic or gpu mining. Going to have to flip a coin or something.

Yup. Both are good investments with the current situation

My problem is I'm not sure where I'd put either of the miners when I get one or build one. I live in an apartment and have like no room for it.

They are loud, so if noise is a problem, I would recommend building an enclosure to reduce the noise a bit and maybe put it in a closet. They also generate a lot of heat, so you will need to attach a duct and maybe direct the heat out of a window.

Also, what do you think about mining litecoin with bitmain's L3+ miner? Current difficulty it seems to be around a $10,000 a year profit for me,

I think the L3+ will continue to be profitable. Litecoin continues to do well. I have 1 L3+ and it is a good solid machine. I'll do an unboxing and review when my next batch arrives.

One thing to note though is that it is just as loud as an S9 and generates just as much heat.

Loud would be an issue as well as venting. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55350.85
ETH 2319.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33