"BTC Is Not Useful"

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

I recently took out a very small amount of BTC to pay for a Christmas dinner. It was the very first time that I had used my BitPay card. So I sent $200 worth of Bitcoin to the Bitpay card, and was charged $17 in fees. I'm still very confused about when I can get a Monaco or Tenx or Centra card, but that is another story.

The dinner was absolutely delicious, probably the best meal of the year. However, the Fees put a spoiler on an otherwise very nice evening.

Now, I check out one of Bix's latest videos, and I love his comment. "Bitcoin is not useful." I would have to agree with him. It just really isn't.

Put in terms of scale, I paid 5x in fees that would I would have paid from an ATM in fiat.

In several of my earlier posts, I talk of LTC, VTC, GRS, and even XVG as currencies. (It seems XVG is getting some momentum these days, and perhaps will be the "Silver" to the Monero "Gold".)

Legal Disclaimer : I am not a financial advisor, and this is not financial advice. Do your own research.

Sort:  

BTC is a store of value asset. LTC or BCH will be better used for transactions.

That has been my sentiment for a good while, but it's terribly ironic that it is called a cryptocurrency. Perhaps a more appropriate name would be crypto-asset.

I also think like u.
Nowdays Crypto currency doesn't mean currency exactly it is a asset i think.
But span time, it would be currency after very very long time.
It's my only opinion for Cryptocurrency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87