How to get blockchain.info private key

in #bitcoin7 years ago

blc1.jpg

Hello. As many people are asking me now how to recover their BCH from the blockchain.info wallet I have undergo the laborious task of trying to get the private key from the service. one would expect it will be there to show, but no not really. So after I managed to get it I though other people may find this information useful. Lets not waste time and get to it.

  1. Open https://iancoleman.github.io/bip39/ right click and save the html to your hard drive/usb drive.
  2. Disconnect from the internet
    3.Once you are offline open the saved page and to the BIP39 Mnemonic input the 12 word seed you save from your blockchain.info backup (you don't have to fill in anything else)
    4.Scroll down to section Delivered Adresses
  3. There you see all the addresses you own an its private keys!
  4. Private key is yours and now you can import it to other wallet service! Enjoy

It took me quite a bit of research to get this information so I hope you will find it useful.

For ore articles about Bitcoin follow @bluudz

Sort:  

Good work, and thanks for your contribution to community brotha! Check out my couple posts and follow me if you like! Followed and upvoted!

@bluudz it's really helpful for me!! Thanks for sharing with us!!

nice post! i upvoted you!

for all steemians on this post......... follow me and i follow you bros! :D

Just tested and it also works with other wallets where you have the seed.

Thanks for your help... Do you think its safe to use that blockchain account again after uncovering the private key through online software, even though you were working offline? Or should one close account and start afresh?

Depends on how much coins do you have in store to worry about. If you have downloaded the webpage and started on local computer it should be fine. If you don't have big amount of money on the account even the online version should be fine, but I'm not expert..

Ok, thanks very much for your help

I had BTC in my Blockchain.info wallet when the fork happened. I didn't know at the time the implications of the fork. A few days later I moved my BTC out the Blockchain wallet into a Bittrex wallet (mainly out of disgust at having not received the BCH from Blockchain). I still have the Blockchain wallet. Will the above procedure work for me, or have I blown it by moving them out? If so, is there ANYTHING I can do to claim my BCH?

That should work for you as long as you had bitcoin in the blockchain.info wallet before August 1st there should be some Bitcoin Cash there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49