You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it Wise to Store Bitcoin on a TREZOR Before and During Bitcoin Hard-Forks?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

@jamesbrown Trezor supports BIP148 so that means that if Bitcoin does split for some reason and your Bitcoin is on Trezor, you will definitely not lose your Bitcoin. If Bitcoin splits into two separate blockchains, your Bitcoin holdings would entitle you to an equal number of coins of both those blockchains and they would appear on your Trezor wallet in the very unlikely event that Bitcoin does split come August.

The only risk you would run would be that the value of all your bitcoin holdings within these two blockchains (old Bitcoin and new Bitcoin) would be worth less than the value of your bitcoin before the split. However then you would be in the same boat as everyone else who owns Bitcoin.

I don't understand this question: "I don't currently know how to discover the private keys to the various public keys that I've used under the MPK and I'm not sure if that's even necessary."

I know a thing or two about crypto so I'd be happy to answer it if you can rephrase it.

I hope you found this answer helpful. Let me know if you or your readers have any more questions @jamesbrown

Sort:  

Every bit of info I can get is helpful, so I appreciate you sharing your knowledge on this.

In the question that you pointed out, I was working from the (mis?)understanding that each public key has its own unique private key. All that I currently know for my Trezor is the MPK (24 seed-words), which, as I understand it, is the the key to having access to all the private/ public keys used within the Trezor.

Yes, each public key has a private key. Did my statement somehow negate that?

In any case Trezor as you know has a long reputation of being very secure and safe so it's likely the number one safest place to store your Bitcoin now.

No, nothing you said negated it. I was just trying to clarify my understanding and my position. I have a MPK (24 seed words), but I don't know the unique private key(s) to the hundreds of public keys that I generated between my BTC wallet, DASH wallet, and ETH wallet on the Trezor. As I now understand it, I don't need to know those private keys because the MPK generates them (all private keys are stored in/ under the MPK).

I agree on your assessment of the Trezor, which is why I store close to all my BTC, ETH, DASH, and ZCASH on it.

@jamesbrown Sorry I didn't reply for a couple of days, I was on a flight from Bangkok to Amsterdam.

As to Trezor, if I'm not mistaken you have many encrypted private keys on your Trezor which can only be decrypted with your unique MPK.

No prob. I'll figure it out when I have to. For now, it's good enough to know that the MPK is the "key" that gives access to real block-chain ownership (private keys).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56