You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin to 10k USD Before End of The Year?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hey! Thanks so much for the upvote. Just finished reading and I love your passion and don't worry I'm just as passionate as you!

Just for clarification when I said "21 trillion for a single coin" I meant 21 trillion market cap for Bitcoin alone meaning not in combination with any other crypto currency. Just that one type of currency- bitcoin. So my apologies if that was confusing. Right now the crypto market as a whole hovers around 150 Billion (and yes bitcoin makes up 2/3rd of the entire market cap) and continues to go up. This is all great news! And I do think we are just at the beginning of something that will revolutionize how we transact in a number of different industries both internally and externally. And that is so exciting to me. Imagine a world where our security is decentralized, where Equifax hack can't happen because our identity is saved on a digital ledger that is immutable and can't be hacked. That's exciting to me!

My thoughts on bitcoin:

Bitcoin was the first currency and the inception of blockchain and because of that I think it isn't going anywhere anytime soon. Now the case can be made that we will go to one trillion and I wouldn't even refute that. I hope that we do! I own bitcoin but when we think of it as a currency for the majority of people we can't think of bitcoin the way it is today. Currently we don't have a standard backing world income except the USD. The reason I compared gold to bitcoin is because gold is an asset
a way of storing money and many people do. Bitcoin is really an uncertainty at the moment. It could become a currency or it could become an asset or it could be used in a way we haven't seen yet. I think an understanding of what bitcoin is and will become would affect how it grows and how people (and nations) see it and also back it. I can see a serious case made for bitcoin being used as an asset in developing countries and we are already beginning to see that now. Places where the government is too corrupt at the moment (Venezuela, Zimbabwe, etc...) and that will continue to increase the market cap.

But in developed nations I don't see that being the case unless the government decides to back it. The majority of Americans hardly know what bitcoin is let alone how to invest in it and when you start discussing wallets and private keys you've lost them. The majority of American find bitcoin far too risky and confusing to invest in. Something would have to change fundamentally with bitcoin for it to surge into the multitrillions especially if you're making the argument bitcoin will continue to exponentially increase.

The other issue I have with bitcoin is the current blockchain. its slow compared to other currencies and requires a lot of energy to do transactions. The blockchain has gotten so large at just $100 billion that the machines running it need millions of dollars to pay for the energy needed to put the transaction on the chain. That means as bitcoin goes up so will the fees. And we are only at $100 billion. Imagine if that was 21 trillion? If bitcoin continues under the blockchain It has today then it would take weeks for one transaction to go through and it would cost thousands of dollars in fees. Now of course we are looking into forking to change this but even that is hitting resistance and sometimes for good reason. Since there is no central say in bitcoin there has to be a consensus. Segwit 2x would help with these issues but they also have problems of their own as the consensus within the community doesn't seem to support the way in which they want to fork bitcoin.

My point is we need to look at this from all sides. I think we need a better idea of how bitcoin will be adopted by the masses and how we can make its blockchain more efficient. Until we see that I think 21 trillion is a bit too optimistic for me. Hope thus gives you some clarity on my previous comment and once again thanks so much. I really love the enthusiasm and trust me I believe and love my bitcoin ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62493.96
ETH 2440.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64