What is truly the best crytocurrency?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Crytocurrency.jpg

Now I can always do an in depth research to discover this for myself, but I figured it would be easier to just ask an entire community of like minded people, some of whom are very knowledgeable about this subject, instead. I may be earning some steem as well after all :)!

So the question is simple, but obviously not that easy to answer. What is the best cryptocurrency to own? Now I don't mean this strictly in terms of current market value, I mean more as in what is truly the best one to use if people decided that crytocurrency will be the equivalent to fiat currency.

I know bitcoin is definitely not the best crytocurrency. Despite being the pioneer and the highest market value, there are plenty of alternatives that improved on what bitcoin lacked (like its long transaction time). In light of this, it's probably one of the more recent crytocurrencies that came out that would be the best right? If there's a currency out there that has improved on what all of its predecessors lacked, then I'd say it's a good bet to start buying some of that.

cryptocurrency-icons.jpg

I'll expect more than one answer as I doubt there's a crytocurrency out there that is flawless. Any suggestions will help out and not just for me but whomever else is curious about this too! I don't even mind people suggesting a coin purely out of preference, at least it's an answer. Of course, I would like some sort of explanation for all answers though.

Thank you for your input(s)! My next post will be on what's truly the best investment in general, an even harder question to answer, but at least we'll get closer to the truth with each discussion!

Sort:  

Ripple and ethereum will both play an equal though different part in our world.
There are other cryptos that also have a place for sure but these two cover the most signifigant aspects of whats to come.
Ripple is going to be synonymous with banking, and ethereum is going to be the centre of most everything in time.
We are witnessing the birth of truly world changing entities, and i cant wait to see what the future holds.
In terms of other uses, such as a truly anonymous payment system zcash and dash or others will probably be a good guess, though that will become more and more difficult over time.
Bitcoin itself isnt going anywhere, even it could become world reserve currency of sorts... i do definitely see a $10,000 bitcoin in the not to distant future.

Do you think Ripple and Eth could be replaced by better versions before getting this big?

Interesting, all of these coins are in the top 15 in market value. I suppose the market truly does know what's best? The thing with crytocurrencies is that since it's so easy to create a new kind with some effort, someone will always find a way to improve on something. With the countless different coins in the market right now, it's no wonder why the market is so spread out and why people stick with bitcoin. I wonder if there will come a day where a crytocurrency comes by that is just so good in every way that people just flock to it.

Waves: Good marketing, potential to deposit and withdraw USD GBP CNY, and good for large companies making own tokens up. Lots of potential.

Eth Classic: Good community, more genuine growth not based solely on short term investment.

Litecoin: Currently a great bitcoin alternative, but don't write bitcoin off yet.

Thanks! Never heard of waves, I 'll start looking into it now.

They have a neat chrome add-on which lets you get a good feel for where its heading. I created my own currency using it - Kochabs. I have 10000 of the now but I'm not sure what to do with them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33