"FREE" products when you "BUY" with CMT on Blocktonic - How is it possible?

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I've written a couple of posts about Cybermiles / CMT lately, and this one is by far the most fascinating / interesting. As a Crypto e-commerce solution Cybermiles have developed an online store known as blocktonic which only accepts payment with their Cybermiles crypto CMT. Here's where it gets interesting. For a promotional period (the rest of 2018) EVERY product purchased receives 100% CASHBACK - IE - FREE!!!

Before I get into the detail - Do yourself a favour - Click this link,
https://www.blocktonic.io/register?code=EKWY8P
create an account and have a look at their products they sell - Lots of variety, but a particular focus on electronics with a current sale on Xiaomi

  • So... How does it work
    In my view its a smart play for the company and actually a great deal for the consumer if you're prepared to wait for your refund . Basically - you buy a product with CMT and the value of the product purchased is refunded to you over 300 days in ETH (Not CMT)

Lots of details below - so a quick summary in case you don't want to read on.... Should you buy? Completely your choice - I did and Im very happy with my decision to. I'm awaiting confirmation of my delivery, so I'll report back if anything changes - however the way I purchased (details below) means not only did I get the product for free, I end up slightly making money in 300 days from now depending on ETH market conditions between now and then.

  • Now for the detail
    You find the product you want and submit the order. To pay for it you need to own or purchase CMT from an exchange (E.G. Binance, Huobi, etc) - You then send the required amount of CMT to the blocktonic wallet and complete the transaction. From my experience - It takes 3 days to process the order then its shipped. Once your order is delivered you start to receive 0.5% of the balance (reduces by that amount each day) in ETH back each day for 300 days.

  • Whats the catch / why would the company do it you ask?
    First of all - This is a promotion, so lest assume there would be an element of expected cost / risk associated with it. However - As I see it they have covered themselves a couple of ways.
    1 - When you purchase you are taking a slight hit on the conversion rate they give you...
    E.G - At the time of writing coin market cap lists CMT @ $0.164862. The current rate they give me on the site is $0.154466. Note the their rate only changes every 2 hours - so account for some flexability, but lets say - they are making 5% back on every transaction.
    2 - They are paying you back in ETH and actually doing the reverse of the previous so valuing ETH slightly higher so lets say 5% drop there too.
    3 - When you pay them they hold onto most of your money (you're effectively staking) scaling down for 300 days - They can trade that for profit (or loss) during that time.
    4 - By giving you back ETH and not CMT - they are taking coins out of circulation (adding to their own stocks) so in theory a reduction in CMT in the market should reduce supply and increase demand and therefore increase the price / value of their own holdings.
    5 -They charge shipping as standard DHL costs and and don't rebate that cost - IE that is an out of pocket cost for purchasing. I'd expect they'd get preferential rates through scale so they charge us more than what they'd be paying themselves.
    6 - Some of their prices listed are slightly higher than best price available online (many are actually very cheap listed also so thats a positive)

  • So how did I win?
    Well - Through price fluctuation I purchased my CMT when the markets were on a dip... IE - When they dropped to <14c I bought more CMT on binance. I then waited for the increase to come and when it did I made a product purchase. IE buying 500USD product that had 85USD shipping cost (7KG international) required approx. 4200CMT. So buying the CMT and waiting allowed the price rise to reach .17 and therefore only requiring 2900CMT. The price rise saved me 1300CMT and even with the 500CMT shipping cost (not refunded) i still hold 800CMT extra at 17c leaves me $130 immediately front +.95ETH from the sale... So if ETH doesn't drop (or rises) Im happy because i've purchased a $500 item and ETH stored away hoping for the next big price rise :)

  • Note - Obviously there is a risk that if CMT price drops after you buy it you can't do what I did. Thats the risk of crypto I guess and for me the benefit outweighed the risk and paid off ;)

From a support point of view - they are bit slow to respond to support emails 1-2 days sometimes, and their social media doesn't get great responses - but the cybermiles telegram admins are very helpful.

I hope this helps - let me know if you want me to clarify anything otherwise - happy shopping. If I helped you and you do purchase please use the link to sign up and I'll get a small referral bonus off anything you buy - Then share with your friends so you will too! https://www.blocktonic.io/register?code=EKWY8P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94