CRYPTOCURRENCY IS HERE TO STAY: WINTER IS COMING

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

A while ago, I asked in a crypto WhatsApp group if the blockchain adoption can exist without cryptocurrency.



The question arose from my personal quest to further understand the cryptosphere. And I think I may have found an insight through happenings around me that I have observed.


Where there may be some other use cases of blockchain that don't involve cryptocurrency like the intended use by US home security, I am now quite convinced that cryptocurrency is actually here to stay. ( Which actual one I don't know, but it is obvious BTC is certainly sure to survive)

This belief is further reinforced in a new article by Nigerian Director-General of the National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA), Dr. Isa Pantami, published in the Journal of the British Computer Society.

I have below some excerpts from the article titled: BLOCKCHAIN IN NIGERIA.

After he highlighted the top gainers from the dot-com era that include Microsoft, IBM, HP, etc, he wrote:

"Digital business is slowly replacing legacy e-business while new technology like blockchains, AI, and IoTs have emerged to drive this digital transformation"



Now this is the part that got me sold

"At the core of this digital transformation is the DIGITAL ECONOMY'



Then I asked myself, do you know of any economy without money or currency?

Then he wrote about the Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT) and have this to say:

"The technology has the potential of TRANSFORMING AND REVOLUTIONISING the conventional payment, clearing and settlement transactions"



Now note the emphasis, he did not said REPLACEMENT because the aim is not to replace, this is where I think most crypto enthusiasts might be getting it wrong.

FIAT IS NOT DYING, cryptos are not going to replace fiat, it is not going to happen, it is not happening anytime soon.

Mobile phones have not killed landphones, but we now make calls in different ways, and e-books have not killed prints and hardcovers.

Now this,

"Blockchain was created as a technology architecture for BTC in 2008"

Even though there are now different blockchains, there is a little chance mass adoption of blockchains will not have a positive bearing on BTC.

And now he reinforced my strongly held belief by saying

"Blockchain technology has come to stay"


"From forecasts and projections by major technology pundits, it appears likely that blockchain technology will become SIGNIFICANT in financial transactions worldwide, including Nigeria.

To put this in perspective, I, for example, had only used MoneyGram to send money to Nigeria only once in my 3 years outside of the country.

My conclusion is this, I don't know when, but I am quite sure now that the end of BTC is not anytime soon, forget the over 90% drop in crypto valuation: WINTER IS COMING

Follow on twitter @mrbhiyi

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @biyi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60986.74
ETH 2636.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63