Acceptance of Bitcoin as Payment In 260,000+ Japan Retail Stores Begins Roll-Out

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Japan's tax reform bill went into effect on July 1, 2017. This officially exempts consumption tax on the same of bitcoin and now businesses are getting ready to adopt bitcoin as a form of payment in retail stores.

“The supply of virtual currency will be exempt from Japanese Consumption Tax (“JCT”). Currently, virtual currencies such as Bitcoin do not fall under the category of exempt sales, and as a result, the sale of virtual currencies in Japan have been treated as taxable for JCT purposes. Following the enactment of the amended Fund Settlement Law in May 2016, which newly defined “virtual currency” as a means of settlement, the sale of virtual currency as defined under the new Fund Settlement Law will be exempt from JCT. This change will apply to sales/purchase transactions performed in Japan on or after 1 July 2017.”

-Deloitte’s report

A couple of retail companies such as Recruit Lifestyle Co., Ltd. and Megane Super are ready and have a mobile point-of-sale (POS) app ready. The app is called "Mobile payment for Air Regi"


"Customer holding bitcoins can pay with bitcoin simply by scanning the barcode displayed on ‘Mobile payment for Air Regi’ app."

-Coincheck

Over 260,000 retail stores in Japan will be accepting bitcoin by this summer.

Recruit Lifestyle has started accepting payments as of July 3 and eyeglass chain Megane Super will begin on July 10.

A developer from Coincheck International Business has confirmed the eyeglass stores are the first batch of the 260,000 stores will start accepting bitcoin using the Air Regi app and will expand.

"Some other stores are also preparing Air Regi bitcoin payments…Also, adding to existing 260,000 stores that already use Air Regi, we will cooperate with Recruit Lifestyle to expand the stores that accept bitcoin."

-Kagayaki Kawabata, Developer at Coincheck

Coincheck has been signing up merchants to accept bitcoin directly such as capsule hotels, a property management comapany, and restaurants owned by Kai Corporation.


Sources:1,2,3,

Image Sources1,2


Thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Feel free to follow and find me in Smart Media Group on Discord.

Follow SMG on other social media platforms and let's Tokenize The Web!

Twitter: @the_smartmedia

Instagram: @the_smartmedia

Sort:  

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

Thank you very much for the comment.

U are welcome, please visit my blog and support

This comment has received a 0.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This comment has received a 0.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This is awesome! I'm heading to Japan next month and I'm planning on buying Nintendo Switch and paying with Bitcoin! :D

I'm jealous. Let us know how that goes!

There are a few places here in the Netherlands you can pay with bitcoin and I can't wait for the moment every store accepts it!

@poeticsnake! Glad to see you back and hear from you. That's awesome yea, I can't wait for that moment. That time is coming closer :)

It's very great to see you are still here as well. I had to take some time away and say good bye to my beloved Dad who has been sick for many years. All in all a hard time but ready to kick some new ass! :D

Sorry to hear that. That must of been really tough. I've been helping take care of my father because he had a heart attack recently. I feared that time came for him when it happened but he was lucky.

I'm glad you're ready to kick some new ass!

Nice post. Have a great day

This is a huge breakout for bitcoin

Thanks for sharing this! I just upvoted you

Thanks for sharing this post.Good one

Hi, my dear friend
Foolo intense
Upvote was done
@haji

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82