DOGE Coin - How a meme-based coin has maintained its success for 3 years! Much Wow!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Isn't the internet a crazy thing where a crypto-currency based on nothing more than a silly internet meme can be worth $126 Million dollars!!

I recall when DOGE was launched back in around 2014 and remember thinking to myself "what the hell is this 'dodgy' coin about". I ignored it for the first week or so but quickly realised it was going places so I started to mine it. I think i mined about 10,000 per day with just a single GPU mining rig. Back then each DOGE was worth about 150 Satoshi which is about 0.015BTC per day. Of course Bitcoin was only about $100 back then so it wasn't much money.

Oh before I get any further, incase you're wondering how it's pronounced? It's not "DOG-E" or "DODGE" but rather a long 'o' sound like 'dojo' without the 'o' at the end.

The main purpose of DOGE was as a tipping system in social media, so like on Reddit for example people would donate you say 50 DOGE for a good post or interesting article/news.

There was a time DOGE tried to go more mainstream and they actually tried to sponsor an official NASCAR! They got some air time at one of the NASCAR events with some commentators talking about it and the logo on national TV.

Obviously since the glory days of DOGE, it has still maintained a strong market capitalistion but I dont believe will ever 'make it big' in the crypto world.

Hopefully you guys bought some at around 20 satoshis last week as it's now shot up pushing towards 30 satoshis again. I bought in at 22 and at 26 so if they hit 30 i'll cash out. I still have an old DOGE wallet on my mining PC with about 25,000 I think but the wallet takes forever to sync so I cant actually access them.

The last time I checked I was still at 3 Years and 2 Weeks to go! So unless DOGE jump up to 1000 Satoshis each I'm not going to bother with the wallet.

Sort:  

I am happy to let it sync up if you no longer interested, lol. to the moon!

haha thanks, I'll tip you 50DOGE for your troubles when it syncs...i'll kick it off again today.
post your DOGE address

D6w3kj4sNnghH7TEECzqNDXvhELMah7xfH

I remember when they sponsored a bobsled team..

Free coins I see. @bitcoinforchumps you sure are generous ;)
So back then if people exchanged DOGE for bitcoin they would be rich now. Dang what a trade that would have been.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82