You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The best Cryptocurrencies to mine with GPU/CPU right now

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I do still like the fact of coins that can only be mined by CPU it seems to be the best in terms of an even playing field for everyone because everyone has a CPU! But not everyone has a GPU.

One thing you can never predict though is a coin that might not be profitable to mine today could actually be easier to mine today and jump in price making it the most profitable. I say mine whatever you believe in and like.

Sort:  

That's true. I believe in mining a fair quantity of variety of coins giving the options in future to get good rewards.
Although CPU mining is possible, but will be much slower that GPU mining. Even if you get one nice card, you will get a lot of profit than CPU mining. So in my case, I bought a nice card to get better profits. Still in testing phase, so lets see how it works out. :)

What GPU are you using, if I may ask?
You didn't seem to have trouble in buying one(?) I'm in Malaysia and GPUs are in short supply. When they are available, sellers would ask for a rather high premium. There's an online business of unoffical `resellers'. These guys would buy as many GPUs as they can with the sole intention of selling these to others.

Its a Zotac GTX 1060. Had to buy a new one. Already lost a bundle trying to purchase them second hand (fraud sellers). Its not exactly great, but good enough to mine newer coins.
Can't mine ETH with this card.

you can. there is even a claymore dual miner for nvidia. so you can mine ETH and SIA at the same time for example. or any other coin with equihash algorithm. dont want to post the link here... miners are sometimes trojans and i dont want to spread this. never tried the nvidia version, amd works great! cheers

I tried mining with minergate on i7 system with 6 threads, but maximum hash rate it showed was around 40 H/s, and consumed ~98% CPU usage on 6GB RAM. GPU mining might be beneficial.

Thanks for the feedback.
Was toying with the idea of mining something on my i3 8GB RAM desktop. But after reading your comment here, I guess I should be sticking to POS :)

I am able to get the same hash rate on my i5 2520m 8 GB ram. Interestingly my huawei p9 lite is able to mine at 22 H/s.
All using minergate xmr mining.

I use two dell t54oo workstations with dual 3.0 cpu's... which is total 8 cores each which pushes close to 139 h/s each and one t3400 dell at two cores for a total of 455.1H/sStatus:ONLINE
Active workers:3 on minergate. it only brings in about $20-25 a month.
Accessoriesbay: Join me on minergare- https://minergate.com/a/b6fc43be558cac6e15e56ecd

Some of the lesser-known coins do have much lower system requirements. Like Evergreencoin (EGC) which uses a hybrid POW and POS system. One won't make big money from mining like with the popular coins (provided that you discover blocks often enough). And you'd need to also own and stake these coins. But it does provide some reward for those who help support the coin by running a node on their laptop/desktop.

By the way, I'm running EGC and Navcoin nodes on a humble 10-year-old Dell laptop. While using it for browsing and word-processing. Every so often, my laptop would successfully discover a block and I'd get a small reward. But it's being involved and contributing to a coin and its community that's my main objective here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44