I don't like Bitcoin anymore

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

And to be honest, I never liked it enough. The intentions are good, but Bitcoin does not deliver on them. Bitcoin is scary and complicated for newbies, has weird numbering system that only mathematicians like, has ever growing blockchain size and maybe some day in the future we will question the decentralization of this coin. Not only that, but it is slow and expensive to use.

Few months ago, when the price was slowly going up, I was thinking that the reason for that is the one I was waiting for - mass adoption. But now I question that even more than before. I didn't realized that Bitcoin had growing problems with speed and fees.

And I never imagined that there are almost 1000 other competitors to Bitcoin. I knew about Litecoin and few more, but not so much more. But let's not talk about this right now.

Now we are few hours from 1 August - the date everyone (in the crypto world) was talking about. For what? To make the slow snail just a little bit quicker and hopefully cheaper. Even if that happens - what??

I was thinking, why is the price of Bitcoin almost $3000? Because so many people like me thought that it was ready for mass adoption and decided jump on the board? Maybe. But if this is true, then these people also quickly realized the limitation of this system, just like me. And I'm disappointed, then they are also disappointed.

Bitcoin is obviously not ready for mass adoption, but some people say that it's good to store value, like gold. Well, few weeks ago its value dropped 40% from $3000 to $1800 and then it jumped back to $2920 in less than 2 days! I'm sorry, but those are HUGE movements up and (especially) down for something to be called "gold".

And why isn't the price $1800? Miners didn't stopped mining it at that price. Why do we expect the price to go to $5000, $10000 and even more? Because we want that to happen. And who will buy it if tomorrow the price is $5000? Investors, maybe. Newbies don't even know that the Bitcoin is divisible, many of them probably think "Meh, i missed that, it's too expensive...". So, no newbies, current investors only. But if I think as an investor, I would prefer the current price, or even $1800, because why should I pay more for something that is not even ready for mass adoption?

Anyway, I have a website where I still want to use some kind of easy to use mass adopted cryptocurrency that is stable, fast, easy to use and has no (or very small) fees. The ideal crypto coin, you know. Now I have only 2 or 3 people who are paying on the website with Bitcoins and 300 who are using fiat money. Very small number of Bitcoin payers, if you ask me.

I have less than 1 Bitcoin now and I wonder what to do with it. But let me tell you, I'm very inclined to convert it to some other cryptocurrency even now before the 1 August SegWit thing. Not only because the price of Bitcoin is now high, compared to the low price of pretty much all altcoins (buy low, sell high), but also because some of them are just better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33