Largest Online Bank in Norway Meshes Bitcoin Accounts to Client Accounts via Coinbase. Adoption by Mainstream FinTech sector is important for us all.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Cryptocurrency recognized as an Investment Class by Skandiabanken


The bank has tethered bitcoin accounts to client accounts in a new addition to the existing services at the company’s web bank platform.

Skandiabanken clients can now access Coinbase accounts to give them insight into their digital / crypto based investments along with their savings and checking accounts.



Skandiabanken officials have begun to view bitcoin as a next-gen class of assets.

“We recognize cryptocurrency as an investment class similar to other securities,”

-Christoffer Hernæs, Skandiabanken’s Head of Innovation and Development statement to news outlets.

--

The most popular Norwegian internet bank has all of its services online and believes clients will appreciate this new addition to services, since it provides customers with an overview of their crypto investments.

Initially, the service will be exclusively offered to Skandiabanken clients utilizing the payment platform for the bank.

Hernæs also states that cryptocurrency is still a very nascent technology and economy.

“It’s still an early phase for cryptocurrencies,”

“It may be ok to test the waters, without jumping into it head first.” The new feature constitutes as the “first step in a direction we believe in,” he explains.

“We acknowledge that this is something people want to put their money into,” states Hernæs. “Then we think it is the right time to look at new solutions we can offer. We think it’s a better approach than categorically thinking that this is scary.”


https://skandiabanken.no/


Banks and companies who work with, and not against disruptive and emerging tech will win. The rest will be shunned by the customers and be left behind and fail.


Here you can see the Online Interface with the Crypto/Coinbase tab (Blue, bottom left of screen) :

Image: e24.no

  • Norwegian tax officials classify bitcoin as a property / taxable income according to the country’s Tax Act.

  • Clients of the Skandiabanken Norway branch are able to buy bitcoins via Paypal’s payment processor in the system.

  • The Skandiabanken Crypto/Coinbase integration, mimics closely the USA based financial services company USAA’s solution, implemented late fall of 2015


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.




This is an overview of the article sent to my email today, written by Jamie Redman, one of my favourite authors in the Crypto space via news.bitcoin.com


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
Sort:  

That's very interesting!

No problem Miss O!

Excellent news. Thanks for sharing, cuz I would've missed this.

9 posts up today - my new record LOL

You are welcome Deb. I am glad it helps some people.

I thought I'd seen your name up there a lot, but I've been in/out all day & figured I was loopy. Way to go, bud! You are on a serious roll!

My payouts have really really dropped the last few days, the trending page and usual issues are back like before and worse, the pool is being drained % worse wise than before, after the changes

so my posts are up but payouts down for this. Honestly, it is disappointing.

It's definitely frustrating. It's hard to keep your bearings because the ground is shifting. I know we're still in beta, but this crap needs to be settled sooner rather than later.

That excuse stopped working for me months ago when I realized I was not a coder, and all the dev's are, and code can fix things.

Along with knowing human tendancies.

Oh well, at least we have your firepit LOL

10 blog posts today for me.

Wow, can't see it happening in Canada any time soon.

Up next: Bitcoin/Alt/fiat bank loans using Ripple Gateway??

Exactly.

I waited far too long to pick up XRP simply because of my loathing and desire to not do anything to help govt or banks.

It could work..people just need to work together :)

This is very interesting Barry. Thanks for sharing...
I have to admit that I am sitting on the fence about banks using cryptocurrencies...I know it's the way of the future but I can't help but feel like it is inviting evil to the party.

I just said this a few seconds ago here in a reply to similar actually:

Exactly.

I waited far too long to pick up XRP simply because of my loathing and desire to not do anything to help govt or banks.

We waited longer than we should of too on XRP. I kind of felt that they are a little bit different...so far. My understanding that their services will be bought from the banks that use them in order to offer seamless global digital transactions as opposed to banks selling crypto-coins as another commodity.

We shall see.

I also never liked their centralized power the whales there have.

Congratulations @barrydutton! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

LOL, thanks

and I actually got NINE (9) up today!! A record!

Make it 10 posts for the day! (:

The two reasons I'm interested in crypto currencies are to completely avoid all banks & all government oversight.
Sorry barrydutton but I don't like this news at all.

I understand, see my replies here if you missed them.

Have a good nite my man.

Woah, cool. Forwarding this info to my Norwegian fellow computer nerd friend.

Ask him to send you some shoes Matt.

LOL

  • have a good week dude.

I NEED SOME FEET.

LOL

I have posts and a pile of tweets out on this crucial STEEM issue w the vote over on Bobby Lee's twitter page who is the head of yuge China Exchange #BTCC -- vote over here, share this etc --- we can win this, we are very close to having STEEM added to BTCC Matt!!!

A vote or share from you or others will help push this info out there too man

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/steem-is-in-2nd-place-gained-5-in-last-2-hrs-on-eth-vote-now-for-steem-to-be-featured-on-the-huge-chinese-currency-exchange-btcc

Great news for the cryptoworld

Overall, yes indeed.

Thank you for this very informative post. Very exciting to see the progression and integration of Bitcoin via Coinbase and commercial banking.

Right??

Thanks for the feedback today!!

I am just heading out again for a bit to deal with something but I will be back online tonite!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69