Selling Bitcoin on eBay may have been the worst decision I have ever made...

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I am writing this hoping to warm sellers bitcoin and Litecoin and any other crypto-coins for that matter that selling on e bay has been a nightmare for me for the past two days. I have not had a single transaction go correctly...I have issued more refunds in the past 24 hours than I have ever done in my life online...
I think how ever I may have found a solution to these people claiming to "Not Received their Items" or " I Didn't approve this transaction" within 1 minute of it arriving at their wallet..and you can watch them spend the coin to another wallet before they make the complaint too...like they think block explorers don't work or something.
Any way..my solution is to do this..when someone clicks the button to purchases coins from you require the eBay item Number,eBay user id, the paypal id, method of payment with the last 4 of the card used, and then include the receiving address for the coins to arrive...
another thing that can be done as well is to require them to send a small amount of coins from their address with the receiving address and item number in the message...I hope this helps as I am making an effort to"wean out" the cyber thieves with this as people shouldn't have such a hard time buying crypto in my opinion especially since I can buy it with cash from numerous Bitcoin ATM's...any input on this is welcomed...thanks

Sort:  

I bought bitcoin from ebay years ago, when I first heard about bitcoin, and paid using paypal. I never once thought about reversing the payment.

Great content thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Why would you sell them on Ebay?

People have no problem paying above market value is why I was able to buy 2 coins for the price of one by charging double but they disputed the C/C transaction to paypal so paypal just took the money back...I made 2 successful sells and the second I sent the coins to them they opened a case on ebay saying they didn't approve the transaction even after I just finished messaging back and forth to them...it didn't matter what I did..or if I was polite or stern...they don't read item descriptions at all and they they just would make a payment using a stolen card and send me n address thinking I was going to send them coins....the two that did go through i was able to purchase double the amount so I had both theirs and extra for me...then I sent them their coins...so I didn't come out of pocket but just getting anyone to even read an item description is damn near impossible....I pretty much just gave up on selling on ebay at all...ebay now owes me $100 they are holding of mine for "investigation" from people lying and one guy not sending a block erupter I bought for $40...so Im out $60 for a few days until ebay and paypal finally read my side of the story...

decided I will be sending buyer paper wallets if and when they follow direction correctly...this seems to be the only way I can guarantee a transaction because the empty paper wallet can be mailed to the buyer to be tracked and then once they leave me feedback...I send the coins....considering just printing out their public key and mailing it to them and once they get it and leave feedback I should be good right?

Congratulations @bakd247! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54