You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin vs Dash - Which is the currency of the future?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Plainly speaking money has no value as a unit of measure for value.
A meter has no value besides a unit of length, as soon as it is changed by a change to the standard, the new standard invalidates the old one, it is not the same unit of length anymore.

Sort:  

Well... I don't know what to say. What you're writing here is just false. People use money as a measure of value all the time. If someone tells me a craft beer is worth 50 pesos, I can compare that to the amount I earn per week or to the amount a standard domestic beer costs in that bar or in the supermarket. I do get an indication of the value from that. It's not a perfect measure, but it is a measure.

How can you have a imperfect meter or measure? It's a logical fallacy, don't you see?
It's like saying we have almost a mile, or almost a pound, but it's still a pound and a measure of a pound even. You either have a measure of something (perfect/standard) or you don't have it.

Please, I have implored you to consider what you are saying: money is both a measure of value (standard) and a store of value (commodity). It is illogical to have both. Units of measurement cannot change without invalidating the measurements.

The numbers are a measure of value. The object is a store of value. If I mention the figure "5 ounces of silver", you have an idea of much that is worth. If I have the five ounces, I can keep them and store value with them.

I'm trying to think it through and see your point... Can you tell me this: what are the implications of it? And what should money look like in your opinion? Alternatively, what would an excellent measure of value look like or what would it do?

The implications are evident in this:
Units are standard, standard by definition is a perfect universal constant, unchanging. When you measure something with an imperfect unit you are not measuring anything. I implore you once more to analyze and thoroughly investigate what it means to have a standard, what is a standard and what cannot be a standard (commodities).

Okay, but even if I accept that's the case, I have no idea how it will affect my actions or my thinking, how I use money or how I evaluate prices.

Because each time you use money you're trading one commodity for another, and so using money when you have this information won't readily change anything besides your perception of money from a standard/unit/measure/perfect/agreed upon universal construct, to a commodity. It is a store of value that is subject to constant inflation because of the way money is created, so like a leaking container is an imperfect container, so is money an imperfect store of value.

Same for bitcoin, while it's value goes up and has not seen inflation yet, when it does become "standard" it will be subject to the rules of all scarce resources.

I have pointed out all your fallacies.
You said it's not a perfect unit, but it is a unit, either it is a unit or it isn't.

It is a unit. It's not a perfect unit. You seem to be implying that's a contradiction, but it's not. A sweater might not be a blue sweater, but it's still a sweater.

Saying it is a unit and saying it is also a store for value is a contradiction. A sweater has nothing to do with any measurement, a sweater isn't a unit.

Okay, then why did you say "either it is a unit or it isn't"?

By definition all units are standard, they cannot fluctuate, ever or it will invalidate all other measurements before them.

Saying it is a measure of length and also length itself is a contradiction. Saying it measures commodities and is a commodity is a contradiction.

I am not explaining it right maybe. Please go read the Bounded Input Bounded Output currency model, it will explain it better than me I think.

How can you have an imperfect unit. You cannot have an imperfect meter and hope to measure a meter, you cannot measure anything with an imperfect unit, you have admitted that it is not a unit/standard anymore. You cannot measure the value of something with an imperfect unit of measure, it is a contradiction period.

I can measure things in pesos and dollars. I do it all the time. I literally do it every day, so I'm not sure how you can tell me that I can't.

That's fine if you say it's not a standard, because a standard implies that it will be consistent over time. But it is a measurement.

You can measure a mile with an imperfect mile but it won't ever measure a mile.
You can measure a pound with an imperfect pound but it won't ever measure a pound. It is a measure in very loose terms and even then the measure is not based on standard units, but on arbitrary units, so measure is not really the word, estimate maybe.

People using money to measure value and storing value won't make money any less a commodity and more a measure of value, no matter what you compare it to. A mile will always measure a mile of length, a pound will always measure a pound of weight, a degree will always measure a degree. A commodity cannot be a unit of measure or a standard, it is only a commodity or a scarce resource because it's measure will forever change and fluctuate with situation and time.

Prove that a meter has value outside measuring length, or a pound has value outside measuring exactly ONE pound. Prove that if there is a change to what length a mile measures, it doesn't invalidate previous measurements.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53