Sort:  

IMG_1874.JPGNo kidding! Haha here are my first FPGA's that were mining .5 BTC daily in 2013. 21GH/s and $800 a board. Crazy how much I spent on that stuff. I doubt I will ever break even because I had to pay for power with the money I earned back when BTC was only $50-$100 a coin. I used them to mine scrypt after BTC was no longer profitable and are currently mining an altcoin called Blakecoin. You can see some of the the fans have seized up over time and the cheap laptop I bought on Craigslist to power them is fused to the shelf because its rubber feet melted in my 100F garage.

good old days . nice to see that

Yo, I'm quite a bit older than you, but you totally got me obsessed with all matters darknet and crypto. Good work!

@avilsd I'm in that same boat, I first learned of the darknet when wired had the piece about the Silkroad in I think 2013 is when they wrote that. I was using Linux, downloaded Tor and check it all out. It's not a place I spent much time. But I like the idea of a borderless market place outside the hand of the government. The point that I'm taking way to long to get to, is that i think to many people you have become the Wall-Street Jounal of the deep web.

@avilsd https://steemit.com/steem/@jackfitton/best-way-to-invest-your-hard-earned-cash i just made this can you tell me your thoughs (anyone else that sees this please check it out you wont be sorry)

Yes looking at the amount of heat bitcoin mining generates, it's certainly not so cool! I think, these days, it's better to do trading and/or investing in cryptocurrencies than mining.

What do you mean by "heat" exactly?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50