You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Graphic Representation of Bitcoin Price on Coinbase...

in #bitcoin7 years ago

As someone who is extremely new to this sort of investing (invested in property for the last decade), Coinbase is an extremely easy entry point as opposed to the swirling moving numbers of an exchange.

It took hours of research before I was comfortable using Bittrex, and I'm positive most people won't get that far.

Bittrex doesn't take USD directly though, what system are you guys using when you want to put more USD into Crypto?

Sort:  

Gemini www.gemini.com.. the exchange liquidity is not as good, but they don't track your shit like Coinbase does.. I on occasion offload coin OTC in certain places, and if I do that with Coinbase they close your account if you send coin you purchased from them somewhere they don't like. Which forces you to be creative in finding a solution to get back into Coinbase as their exchange liquidity is great and I like the platform. . I wrote an article on the Coinbase thing...https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@pawsdog/big-brother-i-mean-coinbase

I saw that article a while ago and that made me think about ditching Coinbase... so I started researching ways to use Bittrex to by direct... but they just don't do it.

The other problem I have with Coinbase is that take a full 7 days to complete the transaction between my US bank and the purchasing of BTC, LTC or ETH. 7 days is such a long time.

Sorry, what do you mean by exchange liquidity? Are you referring to fees or the amount of people buying and selling at any one time? Or do you mean a speed thing?

Also, thanks! I'll give Gemini a go next payday.

Wire transfers are much, much faster.. liquidity means that you can't put in a big order and drive the price up or down on yourself.. On GDAX you could market sell 100 Ltc and have little effect, do that on Kraken and you will drive the price down on yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62